Earworms May 2nd 2016

 

15790315_s

Here we go gathering nuts in May … or somesuch; happy Bank Holiday Monday to those of you who are having one. Another esoteric mix for you today – hope you enjoy them, and please keep sending your spare earworms to earworm@tincanland.com. All welcome.

Public Service Broadcasting – Go – abahachi: The core idea of PSB’s music – dialogue sampled from old public information films and newsreels built into electronic instrumentals – is clever, and it always has its moments (e.g. their 2012 WWII-themed The War Room EP), but I’ve not been totally convinced until hearing them play this track for Radio 2 (yes, I’m getting old…) last weekend: from an album based around the race to space, this takes samples from the control room during the moon landing, and makes something appropriately magnificent and exciting.

Betty Wright – Pain – severin: One of my three picks for Spill Year 1986. It was my favourite single that year. Great voice – of course. Great song too IMHO. This is the long version. I had to turn over my 7” single and play both sides to hear this at the time.

Curtis Salgado – My Girlfriend – tincanman: Little Walter meets Jake Blues meets Wilson Picket with a little funk thrown in on his latest, The Beautiful Lowdown. Expect awards aplenty to follow.

Rick Braun – Fat Jack and Domino – Ravi Raman: From the Night Walk album by jazz trumpeter Rick Braun. His homage to Champion Jack Dupree and Fats Domino. Part of the music that got into my head during my post surgery period. This is still stuck in.

Toots & the Maytalls – Time Tough – goneforeign: Time Tough by Toots & the Maytalls, this was my introduction to Toots, long before Bob and the Wailers became a hit. Loved Toots ever since.

Eloise Weeks – A Million Eyes – AliM: I heard this on the radio yesterday and it stood out; it stuck in my head sufficiently to make me look it up later. I can’t find out much about Eloise except that she’s about 16 and comes from Berkshire. She won a runner-up award for best original song at the Open Mic UK Final in 2013, and plays piano and violin. The more I play it, the more I like it. https://soundcloud.com/eloise-weeks/eyes.

Image courtesy of 123rf.com

13 thoughts on “Earworms May 2nd 2016

    • Not me; until a couple of weeks ago, I’d never really given them a second thought – the first listen to any given track tended to confirm impression that, yes, this is very clever and I’m glad I’ve heard it but I’m not sure I can be bothered to do it again. I’ve now re-listened to a load of stuff after falling so heavily for this track – and I’m still not entirely convinced.

      • Spitfire is still my favourite.
        I think I owe that introduction to Shoey.
        Anyway, finished work. Time to go home.
        Whoopee!

  1. This is the third PSB number I’ve listened to this week. Flatfrog just A listed them last week. Superb conceptualisation and execution.

  2. Public Service Broadcasting – Go Yes, the basic idea behind PSB’s music really is clever. I find them a bit hit and miss in the execution, though. This is a good one though, with a great driving riff.

    Betty Wright – Pain Superb. Betty Wright is, I think, unfairly under-appreciated.

    Curtis Salgado – My Girlfriend This is a rather nice funky little number, isn’t it? I love the horns.

    Rick Braun – Fat Jack and Domino The funk continues. This is a nice fusion-ish sort of groove. It reminds me a lot of the kind of stuff Miles was doing on the Tutu and Amandla albums with Marcus Miller, which is a Good Thing.

    Toots & the Maytals – Time Tough I do love a bit of Toots & the Maytals. This was on the In The Dark album, which a friend of mine used to play all the time when we shared a house when I was a student. It is a great album, well worth a listen if you’ve never heard it.

    Eloise Weeks – A Million Eyes I wasn’t really in the mood for this sort of track today, but I can see its merits. It is a pretty mature piece of work for someone who is only 16.

    I have to say, though. The track that came up for me on Soundcloud after Eloise Weeks was great. It is this one.

    So, who wins? To be honest, I can’t decide. It is either Betty Wright or Curtis Salgado.

  3. I liked the Toots and the Maytals track best, his voice is fabulous. I agree about PSB, loved Spitfire because the voice was so poetic, but sometimes I just find them annoying. Go! is good though.

Leave a Reply

