Tuesday night family tree challenge #1

OK, so we all know what Pete Frame’s Rock Family Trees are, don’t we? Well, as I suggested on the final Spillyear challenge, this is pretty much a rip off from that.

The idea is simple. Each week, the initial post will suggest an artist or band, illustrated with a track by them and all you have to do is post a comment. You should;

  1. Make sure your artist has some kind of a physical link to the original or to one of the preceding artists or bands.
  2. Explain what the link is.
  3. Include the name of a song or piece of music by the person or band you are nominating as your link.
  4. Add the song to the YouTube playlist for that week.

I will set up a playlist for each week.

So, we will start with something fairly easy and, hopefully popular with as many people as possible. So, this week the featured artist is Bert Jansch.

The track I am offering up is a live version of the track “Fool’s Mate” from his 2000 album Crimson Moon

The playlist is here

 

 

32 thoughts on “Tuesday night family tree challenge #1

  1. Bert had a bit of a fling with folk singer and songwriter Anne Briggs and recorded some of her songs, including The Time has Come with John Renbourn

  2. Sorry, but I can’t get it to just post a link. It seems to want to post the video instead. Not sure what I am doing wrong.

  3. I think I’ve got the right idea? Rod Clements, a bass guitarist and multi-instrumentalist, formed Lindisfarne in 1970 with Alan Hull and several members of his own band, Brethren. Clements wrote Lindisfarne’s top 5 hit “Meet Me on the Corner” (1972). When Lindisfarne disbanded in 1973 he founded “Jack the Lad” and worked with other musicians including Bert Jansch , working as a producer on “A Rare Conundrum” and being jointly credited with “Leather Launderette”. Anyway, the song I have in mind is Lindisfarne’s “Meet Me on the Corner”, but I can’t add videos to the YT list. ( Tan-genitals: If anyone is interested, I have just bought a posthumous CD from Alan Hull – “Songbook – some other time”. This features songs he wrote in the 1960s which were on demo tapes bequeathed to his son-in-law – now reworked by said SIL (Dave Hull-Denholm), Ian Thomson & Bradley Creswick. Haven’t had a chance to listen, yet!)

  4. I’m not sure if i’ve got the right idea or not. Is this sort of like 6 degrees of Kevin Bacon? I guess it’s not right to post a Pentangle song? So, i’ll try this. Bert wrote a song about Sandy Denny’s death called “Where Did My Life Go”. Sandy sung on Led Zep’s Battle of Evermore, which is the track i’m choosing.

    Led Zep – The Battle of Evermore

    • You could post a Pentangle song, because Bert was in that band. Pete Frame’s rock family trees was all about the links between bands and artists, the overlapping members.

  5. I don’t seem to be able to add to the playlist (nice not to be the person responsible for a change!)

    Beth Orton took guitar lessons from Bert before her previous album Sugaring Season, so I’m going to pick “Dawn Chorus” from that record. I think she’s also sung with him.

  6. Like the idea but know next to nothing about Bert Jansch. I did find he has recorded with Hope Sandoval, which makes sense when I think about The Rain Parade, Opal, Kendra Smith, Mazzy Star… Neat.

  7. I am not sure I completely understand the game . . .and I dont know Burt Jansch well at all but guitarist Tsuneo Imahori quotes him as a major influence. The spillers can judge ! ! !

    Tsuneo Imahori – Light Flight

  8. OK, so perhaps some people are not as familiar with Peter Frame’s work as I had thought.

    Here is an example of a Pete Frame family tree;

    • Ha – you could add Tom Petty to that tree as he has worked with loads of those peope and is this very day being inducted into the Songwriters Hall of Fame by Roger McGuinn!

      • I posted this tree because it shows exactly how the idea works. It is a family tree of bands with overlapping memberships. You can trace a line of descent in exactly the same way as you would on someone’s actual family tree.

  9. I remember seeing some of these family tress in Zigzag magazine. There was one on the British punk/new wave bands in which he started a rumour that Wally Nightingale (the Sex Pistols original guitarist) was actually Elvis Costello. He wasn’t – just in case anyone is in doubt.

  10. So, if I have understood this correctly – which is probably unlikely – I couldn’t claim Roy Harper, since Bert Jansch only wrote liner notes for an early album rather than played in it, but I could have Prince, on the basis that Danny Thompson played in Pentangle and also on various Kate Buch albums, and Prince played and sang on one track on The Red Shoes? Or does it count only if someone was actually ‘a band member’ rather than simply playing on an album?

  11. Oh, I was looking forward to this, but it appeared on Sunday, disappeared and then I didn’t see it again, sorry! I love Bert Jansch, he was very happy to collaborate in his later years, on Black Swan he worked with Devendra Banhart, Beth Orton and Helena Espvall, so I could go with them or Helenas band Espers, but really his work with John Renbourn is so good I’m going to suggest First Light in which their guitars meld beautifully. Both gone now…but not forgotten. Thanks for getting me to re-explore some of this music and for the game.

  12. I have added that song to the playlist, but if Bert isn’t supposed to feature on the chosen track, and because I love John’s playing I’ll a solo one by him too, hope that’s okay. It’ll be Trotto/English Dance

Leave a Reply

