Earworms 13 June 2016

6744779_s

Good morning, good morning … here is this week’s wormery of delight. I love Ravi’s pick – Komal Rizvi has a beautiful voice and I particularly like the introduction, which reminds me of the muezzin call. Beautiful. I hope this week’s selection finds you on the bright side of the road as opposed to the dark end of the street! Thanks to all, and please keep the worms coming to earworm@tincanland.com.

Komal Rizvi – Lambi Judaai (Long Separation/Absence) – Ravi Raman: A reworking of the song first sung by Reshma, a folk singer from Punjab who moved to Pakistan after the Partition. She then came to India to sing this for a movie and the waves of love and affection that followed sparked hopes of normal Indo-Pak ties. All put to paid with the nuclear tests and Kargil War that came shortly thereafter.

Natalie Is Freezing – Pillar of Garbage – abahachi: The best female-fronted US alt-rock band of the 1990s you’ve never heard of – unless you’re a fan of the brilliant ‘Community’. “Why would anyone in the band be called Natalie? We’re ARTISTS!” Despite the fact that this song exists only in a sixty-second live excerpt, it is completely addictive. Bonus point for anyone who can identify the singer without Googling …

Joe Roberts – Lover – DsD: I’m too busy to spend any time in the Bar at the moment, but I do get SHMOGMU’s launch emails. When I read his ‘Songs With … Sequential Patterns’ intro, I really did intend to contribute. My first thought was this song, even though I quickly decided it wasn’t what was wanted. But now, as Kylie once sang, I can’t get it out of my head. The question is: was Joe being listy or lazy? Or did his producer have a practical joke at his expense, maybe? At least it’s a sequence every English speaker over the age of five knows! ;o)

Frank Black -The Dark End of the Street – CaroleBristol: This is a 1967 song, written by Dan Penn and Chips Moman, and covered by a huge number of people over the years. This version is by Frank Black on his 2005 solo album “Honeycomb“. The album was recorded in Nashville and has a country feel about it. The list of players has some stellar names on it, including Steve Cropper on guitar. Co-writer of the song Dan Penn was the sound engineer on the album.

Rufus & Chaka Khan – Ain’t Nobody – tincanman: If there was a eureka moment when funk and disco married on a one night stand, this would be it.

Peter Gabriel & Youssou N’Dour – Shakin’ the Tree – goneforeign: From 1990: “It’s your day, a woman’s day / It’s your day, a woman’s day / Changing your ways, changing those surrounding you / Changing your ways, more than any man can do / Open your heart, show him the anger and pain, so you heal / Maybe he’s looking for his womanly side, let him feel …”

Copyright: <a href=’http://www.123rf.com/profile_nick_thomps’>nick_thomps / 123RF Stock Photo</a>

5 thoughts on “Earworms 13 June 2016

  1. Worms are boxed, managed to upload them into a folder this week, though had to use “basic upload”, drag and drop doesn’t work any more. Go figure.

  2. Komal Rizvi – Lambi Judaai (Long Separation/Absence) This is a lot more conventional that most of the other Indian sub-continent music you’ve posted Ravi, but a nice piece nevertheless. What to call it? It is a kind of Indian music AOR ballad, I suppose.

    Natalie Is Freezing – Pillar of Garbage THe voice is familiar, but I can’t place it. So, I’ll have to Google. Ah, right, not anyone who I thought it might be.

    Joe Roberts – Lover Sumptuous 80s style production. It sounds like I should know this, but I am not sure that I do.

    Rufus & Chaka Khan – Ain’t Nobody This is a stone cold classic and it would easily be my fave pick if it wasn’t already a song I know and love. I saw Rufus live back in around 1973 or 74. They were superb. This is later, though. I wish I’d seen them around this period too.

    Peter Gabriel & Youssou N’Dour – Shakin’ the Tree Another song I know very well, so I can’t fave this one either.

    A tricky week to pick a favourite, so it is a tie between Joe Roberts and Komal Rizvi

    • Yes it is more conventional. The Coke Studio app dropped it on the day RRSA Extraordinary Vocals was put up and I was struck by Komal’s voice. I remember the hoopla surrounding the original, which is more of a folk song. I really thought tb would pick it but she went another way.
      I just went through the music family tree posts and I was really struck by the depth of knowledge there. Please consider doing an album review or even a compilation write up. Most of the write ups I see are so below par. Guardian regularly requests for such stuff. If I recall correctly they even pay 25 pounds per write up/playlist.
      As for aba’s question, I don’t have a clue and will have to wait till I finish Song Bar guru duties to investigate. Wouldn’t have guessed GF’s pick was Peter Gabriel either as I hadn’t heard it before.
      It wouldn’t surprise anyone here when I say Dark End is my first pick this week with Lover a close second.
      Thanks Ali and all the Spillers.

  3. I do like that Komal Rizvi song. Beautiful voice.

    Also love the Rufus and Gabriel/N’Dour songs. Heard the former a few times and it still sounds as good. Oddly enough I don’t think I had heard the other one although I had expected to find it familiar.

    I did like the Pillar of Garbage snippet although I’m not sure it would have caused a great deal of fuss if not for the subterfuge and shenanigans.

    Frank Black and Joe Roberts tracks both new to me. Neither of them made much of an impact when i played them yesterday evening but they both sound fabulous this morning. Go figure.

Leave a Reply

