Earworms 20 June 2016

17149785 - peace and love flower power groovy psychedelic notebook doodles set

 

A distinctly retro vibe this week, not sure how that has come about but here we have it. Many thanks to all contributors, and lots of good wishes to abahachi in his new job. Please keep the earworms coming to earworm@tincanland.com.

Bristol (feat. Dawn) – No Justice – abahachi: I’m leaving Bristol after twenty-odd years for a new job even further south-west, and it seems appropriate to mark the occasion with something musical: not an actual Bristol act, but a track from a fascinating album orchestrated by Marc Collin (half of Nouvelle Vague), covering classic trip-hop songs (this one originally done by Smith & Mighty) in the style of 1960s French film music.

Jah Lion – Flashing Whip –goneforeign: OK so you can’t understand a word, just pretend it’s a foreign language, it is, it’s patois; it wouldn’t bother you if it was in Greek. Long time favourite with me, it was produced at Lee Perry’s Black Ark Studio with his house band.

Norman Greenbaum – Spirit In The Sky – Ravi Raman: I hadn’t heard this in years and years but since it popped up on a Net radio I’ve not been able to get it out of my head. A true one-hit wonder and a psychedelic gospel written by a Jewish musician!

Mud – Flower Power – severin: Their first single. From 1967. Available on an album called Piccadilly Sunshine Part 13 – British Pop Psych and Other Flavours if you are interested.

Elvis Presley – In The Ghetto – tincanman: The telling of how a child born into urban poverty turns understandably to crime (and dies for it) didn’t have to be set in the wilds of a Chicago ghetto; we equate the word with destitute, Black sections of American cities as seen in The Wire and 60s newscasts, but that’s just recent usage Princeton sociologist Mitchell Duneier finds in his new book, Ghetto. http://goo.gl/TIkchG.

The Alan Hull Songbook – 297 Words – AliM: The recently released album “Songbook” showcases previously unreleased songs from 1967-69 demo tapes, made before Alan Hull joined Lindisfarne. Sadly Alan is no longer with us, so here they are performed by his son-in-law, Dave Hull-Denholm, and multi-instrumentalist Ian Thompson, who remain true to Alan’s style; I particularly like this track.

 

Image Copyright: blue67 / 123RF Stock Photo

8 thoughts on “Earworms 20 June 2016

  1. Bristol (feat. Dawn) – No Justice Good luck with the career change, abahachi, not that you will be needing any luck. This is a lovely track.

    Jah Lion – Flashing Whip It definitely has the Lee Perry Black Ark vibe going on. Nice stoned sound too.

    Norman Greenbaum – Spirit In The Sky I know this so well, not one of my faves but as far as one hit wonders go, it is a good one.

    Mud – Flower Power Luckily this didn’t sound like the Chinn and Chapman Mud of the glam rock era. Unhappily though, I still didn’t like it.

    Elvis Presley – In The Ghetto Oh yes, another track I know very well. It is a classic cover version. I remember going out and buying this from the long since vanished P & J Records in Mare St.

    The Alan Hull Songbook – 297 Words I was never much of a fan of Lindisfarne, back when they were a big(gish) name. This was rather nice, though.

    So, what would be my favourite this week? I think that it has to be Bristol, because I love the drum sound the overall trip-hop vibe.

  2. Wow! How did this happen? We all stepped back in time together. Both Bristol and Jah Lion are new to me. (What a surprise). In The Ghetto is my second favourite Presley track and in that spirit I’ll go with that as my week’s top Earworms. Thanks all. Thank you Ali.

  3. Liked that Bristol track very much. Great sound. Ditto Jah Lion. The music is fine even though I don’t follow the nub of his gist.
    I have never much liked Spirit in the Sky, I am afraid and that hasn’t changed. Don’t hate it, just not my cup of tea. I nominated “In the Ghetto (in an offhand manner but successfully as it turned out) for R/R songs about poverty. I prefer the much earlier Elvis tracks but this was a great comeback single and miles better than the stuff he had been recording for all those film soundtracks.
    I like that daft Mud song. Those who don’t – be grateful I didn’t also send some early Sweet tracks – which was my original intention.
    I did like Lindisfarne. Not as much as the offshoot band Jack the Lad though, which Alan Hull was not involved with. The only one of his solo songs I really know is Dan The Plan. This one was rather lovely though. He does have a very plaintive voice I think. Probably my joint favourite with the Bristol song.

  4. Hope the Exeter job move is a good one, I love the train journey down that way, so pretty and homeward bound for me, despite having been in Bristol for a long time now!
    Enjoyed the Bristol – No Justice song, nice mood and bouncy bass line.

    Jah Lion is very relaxed, well received here too.

    Is it okay to admit that I prefer the Dr and the Medics cover of Spirit in the Sky? It’s the one I heard first and the Anadin Sisters dancing and his unlikely eyebrows appealed to me more than the original, the guitar is admirably grungey though.

    The Mud songs made my head hurt, but it seems well intentioned.

    The Elvis Presley song is known to me from the Nick Cave cover, but the original did once genuinely make me cry whilst in the gym. The whole notion of being in a gym is pretty alien to me, but it did demonstrate how my relationship with music does not mix with ‘normal’ people who put on poorly considered music in the background and expect to ignore it. I don’t do that. Pizza Express, Cardiff played Nick Drake, why? I want to eat, not be unexpectedly emotionally upset. Okay, rant over.

    My parents played Lindisfarne on car journeys, took us ages to track that down, so I am well disposed towards them, this so in quite nice, but the vocalist needs to sing in a lower register, I think. Thanks for sharing though.

Leave a Reply

