Tuesday night family tree challenge #3

Here is the third of the challenges that I said I would do. Not sure if Blood, Sweat and Tears was a great choice last week, so I’ve been thinking about who might offer up a bigger range of possible links.

Anyway, to get the playlist link out of the way, here is one link that might work and here is another one.

So, on to the artist I have chosen.

He was someone who was part of the 1960s blues scene right from its earliest days, working with Alexis Korner, Cyril Davies and later with Steampacket and Bluesology. This week’s artist is the late Long John Baldry.

longjohnbaldrylongjohnbaldry527500

To get things going, here he is performing “Walk Me Out In The Morning Dew”

15 thoughts on “Tuesday night family tree challenge #3

  1. Good news is that both links work, for me at least. Bad news is I only know of his Rod Stewart connection. So I’ll add I Ain’t Superstitious, just to throw Jeff Beck into the mix also.

  2. Turned to the ‘Spill in a desperate bid to cheer myself up. **Sigh**
    Anyway, Reg Dwight aka Elton John was keyboardist with Bluesology, so I’ll go for “Rocket Man” by Elton John, which was the first single I ever bought.

  3. I had to cheat as I know nothing about Long John Baldry, I have learned much! My studies told me that he joined Cyril Davis R&B All-Stars, with Nicky Hopkins in the band as well they released this single, Country Line Special or if it should be related then I’ll choose a Stones song with Nicky on piano, how about She’s A Rainbow

    Sorry Carole, I don’t know anything about these great people you’re suggesting, but I love the idea.

Leave a Reply

