Earworms 4 July 2016

14031280 - vintage style poster for independence day

Happy Independence Day to those across the pond! These songs have nothing whatsoever to do with Independence Day – in fact I’d be hard-pressed to find any common thread whatsoever. Undaunted, I present them for your enjoyment. Many thanks to all contributors, and please keep the worms coming to earworm@tincanland.com.

Principal Edwards Magic Theatre – Over and Out – CaroleBristol: Principal Edwards Magic Theatre were spectacularly unsuccessful commercially, but had a reasonable live following. They were a sort of psychedelic folk/rock act with dancers, a light show and poetry all mixed together. They existed between 1968 and 1975 and released three or four albums. This track is taken from sessions for an abortive album that were eventually released in 2008 as “The Devon Tapes“, and which promptly sank without trace. I rather like it, it has a quirky period charm.

Kailash Kher – Teri Deewani – Ravi Raman: “Teri Deewani” (I am crazy/mad because of you) -Kailash Kher is a folk singer who went from deep depression and a suicide attempt to someone who has reinvigorated the Sufi style and North Indian folk music over the past ten years. He comes from a family of folk singers and trained himself by listening to musicians like Bhimsen Joshi and Nusrat Fateh Ali Khan. This song, like all Sufi qawwalis, is one of devotion and longing – I will live with your name on my lips/ I will die with your name in my heart, etc.

Joni Mitchell – Down to You – severin: Not the most obvious earworm from her “Court and Spark” album but for some reason it’s currently the one I like to return to the most. Just as well it wasn’t recorded by a British artist. “Up to you” just wouldn’t sound right.

Jon Cleary – Boneyard – tincanman: Born in Kent (UK), Jon fell in love with the New Orleans gumbo of R&B, funk and soul to the point that by his 30s he just had to emigrate. Twenty years later, the pianist/singer sounds well assimilated.

I Want a Man by unknowns – goneforeign: This was popular in Jamaica when I was there one summer. I bought the 7″ 45 rpm single. About a year ago for some reason and out of the blue it came into my ear, a genuine ear worm. I looked for the disc but couldn’t find it, I couldn’t remember the title or the artists and the internet was no help. I contacted my LA reggae contacts and drew blanks there also. And then a couple of nights ago I played a mix tape that I’d made in the ’80’s and there it was, but still no names or titles. So here it is, I’ve tentatively called it ‘I want a man’. Hang onto it; it might become a collectors item!

COIMS – The Anericam – abahachi: This one is for Japanther; I suspect everyone else will hate it. Yes, I know I’ve said that before and people have disagreed, and this pair were the support act for last week’s Bohren und der Club of Gore gig in Bristol, and you’ve been surprisingly enthusiastic about their doom jazz; but this is eleven minutes of experimental noise. I think it’s brilliant, and am rather distressed that this duo is so radically hip that their first issue is cassette only. Cassette? I got rid of my cassette deck nearly fifteen years ago. On the other hand, I still have all my old tapes in the loft, and this is tempting me to buy a new one …

Image Copyright: <a href=’http://www.123rf.com/profile_ivaleksa’>ivaleksa / 123RF Stock Photo</a>

14 thoughts on “Earworms 4 July 2016

  1. Kailash Kher – Teri Deewani More than anything else, this reminds me of the Gipsy Kings, something that I’ve noticed in some of Ravi’s tracks before. Perhaps it is because of the scales or modes involved? This is a lot more Western than I was expecting but it is rather nice in an understated way.

    Joni Mitchell – Down to You My favourite Joni album! It is one of those “All Killer, No Filler” albums. My love for this is beyond doubt.

    Jon Cleary – Boneyard Ooh! Love this. Fantastic funky opening and loads of New Awlins strut. Great horns too.

    I Want a Man by unknowns This one is in the tradition of those songs like Prince Buster‘s “Judge Dread”, isn’t it. Fun enough but not my favourite reggae genre.

    COIMS – The Anericam Sorry, but this got on my nerves after about four minutes, so I skipped it along and sampled various bits. Didn’t like it.

    A clear winner for me this week – it simply has to be Jon Cleary.

  2. I actually saw Principal Edwards Magic Theatre once, at an all-night event in Manchester along with lots of other acts, of whom I only now remember Pete Brown’s Piblotko! and White Trash (who? you ask). I’m sure there were a couple of headline acts but I don’t remember who (it was about a quarter of a century ago….)
    PEMT were, I vaguely remember, entertainingly bonkers.

    • PEMT: Curved Air crossed with Tull and Fairport. Groovy, baby.
      Kailash Kher: from India via Iran and Andalucia. A stirring sweep.
      Joni: nuff said.
      Jon Cleary: Great guitar sound. Little Feat-ish, or perhaps Robert Palmer on Sneaking Sally Through The Alley….
      Reggae song: efficient music and interesting social comment.
      COIMS: I liked the last 2 minutes. The rest reminded me of Mickey Hart’s self-indulgent Drums/Space section in a Dead set: the bit where you go for a pee or to get a drink. If this becomes an earworm for you, go see a doctor.

  3. Worms are boxed now, and I’ll amend Carole’s bold bit. I like the Jon Cleary best this week, but I can’t get into abahachi’s pick.

  4. Re. I want a Man: After I’d sent this to Ali I sent it to a friend in LA,
    THE reggae DJ on KPFK, CHUCK FOSTER. He couldn’t identify it but he replied: The track in the background is “Man Shortage” by the Wailing Souls from their days with Junjo Lawes. Based on this I did a quick search on youtube for Wailing Souls – Man Shortage, and there it was, it’s called Man Shortage by Lovindeer and a still unknown female voice.
    As you’re aware it was very normal for groups in Jamaica to steal/share/use each others backing tracks, that’s what happened here.

  5. Aba: My sympathies go to poor old Panther, he doesn’t deserve this.
    Your suspicions are assuredly correct re. acceptance of this ‘piece’, and not all of us have disagreed with you in the past. Nor do I recall the ‘surprisingly enthusiastic’, I do recall my challenging your use of the word ‘jazz’ being attached to this noise.
    I don’t think this was what Tincanman had in mind when he came up with the concept of ‘Earworms’.

    Good luck with finding that cassette player, beware of anything used at ebay.

  6. I’d never actually knowingly heard Principal Edwards before. I did know that John Peel championed them back in his hippy days and signed them to his Dandelion record label. John Walters hated them though. This was rather enjoyable although I wasn’t moved to seek out the album.
    Kailash Kher reminded me of the little North African music I’ve heard. Liked that a lot.
    Jon Cleary – Fantastic stuff. He’s a Brit? I bet I wouldn’t sound like that, no matter how many years I spent in New Orleans. Loved it.
    Lovindeer was daft but fun. I prefer the mid seventies reggae sound but this was a good solid rhythm – which I’m sure by now must have been sampled by somebody.
    COIM – Not really music designed for sitting and listening to at home I think. On a film soundtrack or as part of an avant-garde drama or art installation I might well love it. I do have a self-hypnosis tape somewhere with music almost as odd as this. The blurb on that says it’s designed to “induce visions” but it never has. Actually now I’ve said that, I listened to this one a second time on headphones (low volume) with eyes closed and found it quite relaxing.

    John Cleary also my favourite of the week.

  7. I really enjoyed I Want A Man. Spluttered through my coffee and still chuckling. Been a lousy weekend so good to wake up to this and Joni.
    Aba: could you give me some pointers as to why the COIM sort of music appeals to you? Must seem like a daft question but I ask in all seriousness – how is ‘experimental noise’ music?
    Thanks Ali and all Spillers.

  8. I came across this last week. Maybe GF is already aware of these guys – John Handy on sax and Ali Akbar Khan on sarod. Brilliant album called Karuna Supreme, with a 21 minute gem called Soul and Atma. That whole track is there only in the full album.

    For a taste here’s a much shorter piece called Rainbow Serenade.

  9. Down to You is one of my favorite Joni tunes on also my favorite album by her, and i wholeheartedly dond Carole’s assessment. I feel obligated to translate the Americanese though. We say “up to you” as well, somewhat interchangeably, but there is a fine difference. Up to you is choice – ie where do you want to go to dinner? I dunno, up to you. Down to you is a more final and serious choice. So do we spilt up? It’s all down to you.

  10. Ravi: Wonderful! I remember them both very well but I’d never heard them play together before. I have albums by John Handy and I saw him perform live once and even spoke with him. Khan and Shankar, plus Ala Rakha and others introduced me to Indian music back in the ’60’s -’70’s, I remember them well. If you haven’t seen it you should check youtube for the film of the Monterey Pop festival [1967], there’s an extended raga by Ravi Shankar that’s amazing.

    Kailash Kher, that’s a powerful cut also, a new name to me but it’s memorable.

    • Yes I’ve heard this GF. A favourite of mine along with quite a few of Ravi Shankar/Alla Rakha shows. Ravi Shankar’s daughter Anoushka has also created some tremendous stuff. You may enjoy this playlist I put together last year for Maki. No sitar though, but other instruments and performers.

Leave a Reply

