Tuesday night family tree challenge #7

I hope Carole is enjoying her holiday. Meanwhile, thanks to tfd for suggesting today’s contender, Maggie Holland. Born in Hampshire, she became involved in the 1960s folk club scene and has played in numerous bands and collaborated with many other artists. Here she is in this week’s youtube playlist, singing A Place Called England, which won her a BBC Radio 2 Folk Award as Best Song of 1999:

Now it’s over to you to expand the family tree by adding more of her music / collaborations / influences / songs that have been covered by others to the above youtube playlist, if you can. I can’t get any of the collaborative links to work this week (although I’ve done exactly the same as last week), so if all else fails just tell me what you want to add to the list and I’ll do it myself (sigh). It’s too hot for a beer but I’m having one anyway. There. That’s better.

UPDATE: TRY THIS LINK TO ADD SONGS TO THE YT PLAYLIST: http://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PLJi415WCqJ306zUffcyjMwJA7KDOHWomM

15 thoughts on “Tuesday night family tree challenge #7

  1. Just a note here to say that when I saw Maggie the other week she said that (following the referendum) she didn’t think she’d be singing A Place Called England again

    • I keep telling her to put more stuff up. Now I’ve got Windows 10 I can’t do it any more…thanks a bunch, Windows 10

  2. Anyway! Since this week’s artist was my choice, I’ll tell you why I picked her. I first met Maggie in the late 80s/early 90s when she was doing the singing for a set of three plays I was in called The Mysteries – a reworking by Tony Harrison of some medieval mystery plays. The plays had previously been staged by the National Theatre with Linda Thompson singing with John Tams’ band Home Service, and Maggie had worked on the songs a bit with Linda. So when our theatre group took on the Cock and Bull Band to provide the music for our version, they recommended Maggie as the singer. She was living in Oxford at the time and would drive over to MK for the shows. She and I have been friends ever since, though she now lives in Leith.

    A tape was produced of music from the three shows, but I don’t think it’s been put on CD – there were traditional songs as well as a couple by Richard Thompson. So to represent the Cock and Bull Band I’ve chosen Monkey Riding, their update of the traditional song Donkey Riding. The only professional musician in the band at the time was piper Jean-Pierre Rasle (my next-door neighbour when I lived in Stony Stratford); he does solo work too and also sessions – he’s worked a lot with Jah Wobble and he plays on Easter by Marillion.

  3. I hadn’t heard of Maggie until the earworm yesterday, but I’m really glad to know her. Sadly she’s not on Spotify at all, but I really like this version of Speed the Plough performed with Tiger Moth which I found on youtube. Thanks for the introduction!

  4. I drew a blank on this one. Don’t know her, and don’t really know any of her associated acts either. But wait, i know of one of her influences. So i’ll add Dick Gaughan – The Workers’ Song.

    Sorry Ali, can’t get the youtube link to work.

  5. I’m waiting for TatankaYotanka to add the definitive Robb Johnson song to the playlist, but when I was at Maggie’s Hot Vultures gig in Peacehaven the other week, Robb was there and he sang his new song Hats. It’s not on YT but you can hear it on his Facebook page, Robb Johnson (Official). It’s about the referendum.

  6. Well, you’re all very quiet, so I’ve asked Ali to add a clip of Linda Thompson singing The Moon Shines Bright from the National Theatre version of The Mysteries. Then as TY’s gone missing I’ve put in Robb Johnson singing Be Reasonable with Attila the Stockbroker. What larks, eh?

Leave a Reply

