Tuesday night family tree challenge #8

So, my thanks to Ali for looking after the trees for a couple of weeks. I must catch up with the music when I get the time.

Anyway, I had two candidates for this week but I couldn’t make my mind up who to pick, so in the end I tossed a coin. The loser will feature next week,unless someone else pops into my head.

This week’s starting point is a real virtuoso, someone who has played with a huge variety of different musicians and bands but who has always set amazingly high standards and stretched what can be done with the electric (and acoustic) guitar. I don’t think he will be to everyone’s taste but there are clear links via some of the bands he’s played with to other acts who might be more mainstream. The world is your mollusc, as the late Terry Pratchett used to have his characters say in the Discworld novels.

Anyway, my choice this week is the jazz-fusion guitarist Allan Holdsworth.

Here, to kick things off is a track from the 1975 album “Bundles” by Soft Machine.

Hopefully I’ve got the hang of links to the playlist now, so here it is. The link should open in a new tab.

 

11 thoughts on “Tuesday night family tree challenge #8

  1. Soft Machine – wow! another almost forgotten name nowadays especially on radios. Used to listen to a lot of Yes, Spyro Gyra and Soft Machine. I’ll go with his link with Jamie Muir and his time at King Crimson – something from Larks Tongues.
    * You Tube link works perfectly.

    • I first got into Soft Machine through John Peel’s late night Radio One show back in the early 1970s. I think that the thing that attracted me to them was the fact that they were “difficult” (much as VDGG were also).

      • They never featured in radios here. I was introduced to them and Spyro Gyra, Yes, etc by a friend who taught in Berklee briefly. His collection was what really opened my ears to Jazz fusion.

        • After the closedown of the pirate stations in 1967, late night BBC1 radio was the only way that you would ever hear underground music in the UK, unless you bought the records, heard records that your friends owned or went to see the bands. John Peel, Bob Harris and Annie Nightingale all had programmes that went out after 10pm. They played the stuff that you craved and were the best way to hear things that would stretch your ears. On the TV, all you had was the Old Grey Whistle Test.

  2. Looks like he’s worked with Eddie Jobson who has been in both Roxy Music and Curved Air, which is good for me.
    Eddie joined Curved Air for their album Air Cut and wrote Metamorphosis for it. Have added to the list and it’s also here.

    LINK

Leave a Reply

