Earworms 12 September 2016

42570417 - tired single young person in sleeping bag

You’re going to have to work for it this week – a playlist of two, and four internet links for your listening pleasure. Thanks for all the worms and please keep them coming to earworm@tincanland.com.

Steve Vai – Freak Show Excess – Ravi Raman: Aptly named and a favourite of my friend’s son, who plays it on a seemingly endless loop. She doesn’t like it but at least I can’t be accused of letting the flame die down.

The Real Roxanne – Bang Zoom (Let’s Go-Go) – severin: Another one from the days when I actually bought rap records – albeit the 7” versions from the bargain bins at Woolworths since I was between engagements. This is the full six-minute version, you’ll be glad to hear. No, you will… From 1986, it features a Bugs Bunny sample and is by one of the two Roxannes who fought the historic “Roxanne wars”. The other one was Roxanne Shante. Ask your granddad, he probably had a picture of her in his kit bag.

The Parrots – Jame Gumb – tincanman: Chocolate Watchband didn’t want to live like everybody else and neither did three uni friends in Madrid, who started cutting class to party and ended up in a surf-garage-punk trio. “I get my guitar,” says (frontman) Garcia. “I drink, I smoke, I start playing and Paco says, ‘Oh this is amazing!’ You think it’s too crazy but he says, ‘If you heard this from John Cale you’d think it was amazing!’” And Paco’s not wrong. http://goo.gl/3FNJLd

Salamanda – Daddy Punk – DebbyM: This track is from a band from Flensburg, up near the border to Denmark. They record at the same studio as my son and were the headline act at our summer festival this year. Great fun and a stage presence that’d put Freddy Mercury to shame!

Brenda Fassie – State of Independence – goneforeign: I came across a mix tape that I made back in about 1990, just after Nelson Mandela was released. On it is this wonderful cut by Brenda Fassie who’s father was Mandela’s brother; she’s his niece. In English the song’s titled A Day of Independence, there’s a video of her performing it for Nelson, it’s at:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rf-ngInkOc8. This is a different version to the one we’ve had previously.

The Script – The Man Who Can’t Be Moved – AliM: I heard this on the radio yesterday; it’s new to me but was released in 2008 by Irish band The Script. It’s cheesy pop at it’s best, I think – apparently it reached No.2 in the UK charts, but I must have been asleep at the time. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gS9o1FAszdk

Image Copyright: theblackrhino / 123RF Stock Photo

10 thoughts on “Earworms 12 September 2016

  1. Brenda Fassie didn’t play here. Seems to be blocked. Salamanda and The Script are really good. Great to see straight up rock and pop. I wonder how the Script’s singer will sound with a piano.
    Thanks for putting up the playlist Ali.

  2. Really liked The Parrots. I’m not really au fait with much surf punk so I just thought of The Cramps when I first heard the song. But that’s a good thing.
    So far just “quite liked” all the others but will give them another play. I often find I’m hearing a quite different song the second or third time around.

  3. Hey! ‘Freak show’ is like Mahavishnu Orchestra on speed. Great track for honing my air guitar chops! (How have I never heard of Steve Vai in my life?). And The Parrots were obviously the support act, in the same club on The Strip. The Sixties are back!
    Liked Brenda Fassie – nice base line. Sorry to see she is ‘late’.
    I obviously wasn’t asleep when The Script had this hit, as it was instantly remembered – probably from Wave 105 and the muzak in Top Man. I like it. From the same year as hits from Scouting for Girls, Amy Macdonald, Snow Patrol, Foals, Amy Whitehouse (RIP). And Adele was chasing pavements. Good year for straight ahead pop.
    Onwards….

  4. Steve Vai – Freak Show Excess The thing about Steve Vai is that he has a prodigious amount of technical talent that often swamps any feeling and, unfortunately, this track embodies the problem. I can admire it, much as I can admire a lot of what Joe Satriani does, but it doesn’t move me.

    The Real Roxanne – Bang Zoom (Let’s Go-Go) This one wasn’t really for me. It was OK, but it didn’t grab me and make me want to listen.

    The Parrots – Jame Gumb Nicely unhinged garage rock. It could almost have emerged from a scuzzy backstreet studio somewhere in LA in 1966 (that is a compliment).

    Salamanda – Daddy Punk This was rather nice, in a kind of summery, throw-away power pop way. It reminded me of Daft Punk doing “One More Time” a bit. I can imagine them going down well live. Flensburg is where people from southern Denmark go to buy cheap booze. At least that was what I was told when I worked in Copenhagen a few years back.

    Brenda Fassie – State of Independence Fortunately not the Jon and Vangelis song covered by Donna Summer but a rather jolly South African knees-up. Good fun.

    The Script – The Man Who Can’t Be Moved Yes, I remember this. They sound like a U2 tribute band to my ears, with a transfusion of Coldplay. This makes them a Bad Thing for me. Sorry Ali.

    I’m thinking that this week it is all about The Parrots. They are my fave.

Leave a Reply

