RR Movies: Kindness

What with aid convoys and soldiers being equally bombable and refugees being compared to cheap, disposable sweets (as well as the usual, everyday cruelties that seem to be getting increasingly heartless), I’m asking for some kindness this week.

Maybe we look to films for excitement and challenges, so there aren’t too many that have kindness at their core? I’ll suggest The Sessions, based on a true story, in which a professional kindness is also a personal one.

What kind of kind film would you recommend?

 

25 thoughts on “RR Movies: Kindness

  1. “Chocolat” – more than a romcom, more about a woman transforming a community through kindness, tolerance and … OK, chocolate. Also “Amelie”, who decides to devote herself to helping others and finds her own happiness in doing so. Perhaps I just like whimsical French ladies.

    • Amelie was my first thought too!

      Kindness is a tricky concept, though, certainly where film is concerned. I think that it is easy to equate decency and doing the right thing with kindness, which would certainly allow the inclusion of It’s a Wonderful Life.

      I think that I will go with another Christmas film, though, and nom one of the variants of Charles Dickens’ A Christmas Carol, the musical version starring Albert Finney, Scrooge. I think that everyone knows the story, so it is hardly a plot spoiler to point out that it is about redemption and the rediscovery of a spirit of kindness that had been almost killed off by the vicissitudes of a ruined life.

  2. Our Little Sister

    This is a really lovely film about three grown up sisters who meet thier younger step sister at their fathers furneral. She is out of place and lonely so they invite her to live with them. It is just a really simple story of four sisters and the of course the kindness and love from the older sisters to their little sister.

    I found an English subtitle trailer.

  3. First thought is ‘Its A Wonderful Life’ where the town club together to pay back James Stewart’s kindness throughout the film by reciprocating. Then ‘Boudu Saved From Drowning’ where an act of kindness (saving a tramp from drowning in the Seine) is rejected. Also Broadway Danny Rose and Little Miss Sunshine.

  4. I’ve peeked in to see what the Spill gang is up to and spied this. Very nice Chris. I’ve felt much the same lately. Here’s a nice small film that is kind to the core. I really would stop to watch Robert Duvall wrap Christmas presents. I enjoy him that much. He’s at his best in Tender Mercies. If you’ve not seen it I highly recommend it.

      • I’ve peeked in to see what the Spill gang is up to and spied this. Very nice Chris. I’ve felt much the same lately. Here’s a nice small film that is kind to the core. I really would stop to watch Robert Duvall wrap Christmas presents. I enjoy him that much. He’s at his best in Tender Mercies. If you’ve not seen it I highly recommend it. Hey Sis!

  5. I’m not going to get donds for this, but one actor who always seems to come off as kind in his roles to me is Hugh Grant. I love him, and that is all. Without having seen Florence Foster Jenkins, it seems that’s a film that may fit the bill.

    • I loved him in Music and Lyrics where he and Drew Barrymore took the whole romcom thing to a mad level of parody.
      The Florence Foster Jenkins film trod (I think) a rather uneasy line between getting laughs from the deluded lady who can’t sing and sympathy for her naivety and genuine love of music. Also sympathy for the cruel legacy of her early marriage. Hugh Grant’s character is also caught between two attitudes. He does exploit her (and her wealth) in some ways but he does protect her and maybe loves her in some ways too. I think I’ve avoided spoilers there.

  6. I have a hard time with this topic, probably because my preferred films are nasty noir, and maybe a film strictly about kindness would be kinda boring? Even Dr. Doolittle, which i picked for kindness to animals (who matter), Rex Harrison was none too kind to their humans, if i remember.

    So what actually comes to mind for me for this topic is moments of kindness in otherwise bleak kind of films. The bit in Unforgiven where Clint Eastwood orders someone to get the man a glass of water, and then blows him away. In Reservoir Dogs, where Harvey Keitel cradles a dying Tim Roth, until Tim says he’s a cop and Harvey puts his gun to Tim’s temple. Peter O’Toole turning back to rescue Gasim in Lawrence of Arabia, only to excecte him later in the film. Also Audrey Hepburn’s kindness to her hick husband in Breakfast at Tiffanys.

Leave a Reply

