Earworms 26 September 2016

52173412 - vertical portrait of a hipster with a pork pie hat and a thick beard against a black background

Another fine selection for you this week, so good we have an extra one because I couldn’t resist the chance to start and end with Jeff Beck. Thanks to all contributors, and please keep sending your worms to earworm@tincanland.com.

Jeff Beck: Goodbye Pork Pie Hat – abahachi: The coincidence of arranging to start guitar lessons again after a couple of years and listening to a lot of Charles Mingus records reminded me that I’d never got round to listening to Beck’s version of this classic. Often denigrated by hardline jazzers for not playing the original changes properly – but the same could sometimes be said of Lester Young, the dedicatee of the original…

The Dovers – The Third Eye – CaroleBristol: I am reading the book 1966 by Jon Savage at the moment. In it he discusses a record I’d never heard of before, by a band I’d never heard of before, either. It is called The Third Eye by The Dovers and is a piece of early psychedelia that tries to evoke the effects of mind-expanding substances.

King Creosote – You Just Want – glassarfemptee: Blimpy turned me on to King Creosote and the whole menagerie from the Kingdom of Fife. The Fence Collective legacy lives on, and Kenny Anderson’s latest is a cracker. I can’t stop listening to this track, it’s so wonderful. I ration myself to one listen a day, so I don’t get tired of it.

Sexwitch – Kassidat El Hakka – severin: Sexwitch is a collaboration between Natasha Khan – she of Bat For Lashes – and British rock band Toy. Last year they released an album of cover versions – covers of folk and psychedelic rock songs from Iran, Morocco, Thailand and the USA. I only know any of this btw because Beth recommended them on The Spill last year. Anyway, it is IMHO utterly wonderful and this is the longest and, I think, best track. A Moroccan song, since you ask, but lyrically and musically stripped down to essentials. Hypnotic stuff. When I die, I’ll go back to where I was.

Priyam Mallick – Sundari Kamola – Ravi Raman: Priyam Mallick is a young modern folk singer from Kolkata and is a very new singer to me though I’ve heard this Bengali folk song sung by somebody else. (Charming Kamala dances merrily. With anklets on her feet, Kamala is a jingling melody). Just a tuneful ditty reworked beautifully here.

Third World – Freedom Song – goneforeign: Recorded in Kingston in the mid 70’s on Island records right after the emergence of Bob Marley and the Wailers, Third World were also reggae pioneers.

Jeff Beck – Scared for the Children – tincanman: He’s imaginative, experimental to the point of unevenness (as should be), and the best of his cohort. And has the humility to make bandmates feel THEY are doing HIM the favour. Here he is from his latest, Hailer, with hard-nosed Londoners Carmen Vandenberg (guitar) and Rosie Bones from their band Bones.

Image Copyright: <a href=’http://www.123rf.com/profile_ljupco’>ljupco / 123RF Stock Photo</a>

9 thoughts on “Earworms 26 September 2016

  1. The Sexwitch track is fantastic. Reminds me of the Konono No 1 music. I’d already heard the new Jeff Beck album thanks to NPR but hadn’t heard his take of the Pork Pie Hat. Enjoyed this and the others, especially King Creosote, which I came across via RR.
    Thanks to everyone for the shares and to Ali for the playlist.

  2. Jeff Beck bookends! I wonder where you can buy such a thing. I initially preferred the first one (see below). Don’t care about purists, it sounded excellent to me. I wonder if I would have recognised the tune if you hadn’t told me. Even though I have the Pentangle version, I’m a bit slow on the uptake with these things.
    Really liked The Dovers too. Never heard of them either but this was great. For some reason I approached a song called “The Third Eye” with trepidation. Probably expected Neil from The Young Ones to pop up in it.
    King Creosote was probably the high point for me – in a particularly good week I must say. Draws you completely into its world. Lovely. So what album should I start with? He’s made forty, I gather, and I am trailing far behind the rest of you.
    Pryam Mallick song was hugely enjoyable. Another performer to investigate further. I see the album it’s from is available from the evil Am*z*n at quite a good price.
    Third World I know of course. Not this particular track though. Blissful. Could listen to them all day.
    The other Jeff beck track took a couple of listens for me to “get”. For some reason I didn’t take to the voice the first time. On the second play it (and she) sounded fine. More than fine in fact. Ended up loving it.

    Well that was a good listen and no mistake.

    • Personally, Sevvy, I would start with KC Rules, but those with greater knowledge of his oeuvre may have another view. If you liked this Earworms track, you should love both From Scotland with love (also available as a dvd with archive footage) and his collaboration with Jon Hopkins, Diamond Mine.

  3. Jeff Beck – Goodbye Pork Pie Hat Wired is one of the most enjoyable albums Jeff Beck has released, in my opinion. His playing on the album is immaculate and he manages to get the passion and emotion into the pyrotechnics in a way that neither Steve Vai or Joe Satriani seem capable of doing. This is brilliant, but I know it so well that it cannot be my track of the week.

    King Creosote – You Just Want I’ve never really listened to King Creosote. I am aware that they exist and I’m sure that I’ve heard their stuff on BBC 6Music, but nothing has ever stuck. This is a really rather nice tune though. The long organ passage reminds me of pre-DSOTM Pink Floyd in one of their more pastoral psychedelic moments. Delightful.

    Sexwitch – Kassidat El Hakka Cor! This is good, innit? I can only describe this as music to help you explore inner space, a.k.a a seriously druggy wig-out. Splendid. I shall have to explore their music.

    Priyam Mallick – Sundari Kamola More nice, slightly psychedelic-infused music. It reminds me of Quintessence in places, I think that it is the flute doing that. Now, where can I buy a raspberry pink crushed velvet kaftan?

    Third World – Freedom Song Another track I know well. I suppose most people know them because of their massive hit Now That We’ve Found Love but they used to get played a lot at punk gigs, along with other reggae acts. This is from their first album, which a housemate used to own and got played a lot back in 1976-77. Brings back memories.

    Jeff Beck – Scared for the Children Jeff Beck really does play with feeling, doesn’t he? I’ll have to listen to this again, to see if the singer’s voice stops annoying me, but Beck is excellent. I seem to remember Charles Shaar Murray writing once that the only thing that stopped Beck being as massive as Page and Clapton was that he didn’t write his own stuff. He is a superb player, though. To my mind much better than Clapton and on a par with Page.

    • I think it’s a particularly good week! I really liked The Dovers, King Creosote and Sexwitch, Jeff Beck speaks for himself and the Third World and Priyam Mallick are excellent. I have ordered 100m of raspberry pink crushed velvet and await everyone’s measurements.

  4. Based on the Lester connection Pork Pie should’a been my pick of the week, but it wasn’t, must be becoming a bit hardcore. Overall I liked the selections, particularly the last four. Sexwitch was intriguing, as was Sundari and I liked the final Beck a lot. Carole’s comments re. Third World got me thinking; I don’t think Third World ever had a hit in the US, I don’t think they were at all known outside of a very small group of reggae fans. Reggae was not widely played on US radio except for some non commercial stations in major cities, in LA it was basically confined to NPR station KCRW for 3 hours on a Saturday, SF had several reggae programs. I think that I discovered ’em in Kingston, I can’r remember them ever touring in the US either. Regardless of all that I thought they were a great group, very different from the Wailers or most other Ja bands, a bit middle class and more cerebral. My favorite cut of theirs is ’96 degrees in the shade.

Leave a Reply

