Earworms 24 October 2016

50364490 - luxury tailor concept. businessman getting measured by a tailor

Thanks for all the earworms, please keep them coming in to earworm@tincanland.com. Eclectic as ever, we also have a catchy new song from The Loft Club – “Heart’s Desire” Eat More Cake house re-mix. The Loft Club are a new British, sixties-styled, indie band, consisting of Daniel Schamroth, Jamie Whyte, Kieran Chalmers and Amy O’Loughlin. Their debut EP, also titled “Heart’s Desire”, is available now on Lightyear Entertainment. 

https://soundcloud.com/eatmorecake/the-loft-club-hearts-desire-eat-more-cake-remix . 

The Equators – Feel Like Making Love – severin: I heard this late one night in 1977 when John Peel played it on his radio programme. One of those reggae recordings that startled and (in some cases) delighted young rock fans around the UK. I was unfamiliar , at the time, with the original Roberta Flack version and certainly unprepared for the, frankly peculiar, dub which Peel also played – see below. A sometimes forgotten gem. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XH8Joxp88QA

Eddie Reader – Love is a Losing Game – glassarfemptee: Is it that time already, Eddie? Yes, it’s time for a 2 CD “Best of…” Eddie Reader.  I thought she was just getting started. But google reminds me it’s nearly thirty years since ‘Perfect’. Tempus fugit. Anyhow, here she is with a lovely cover of Amy Winehouse (RIP) from the amazing Back to Black album.

Spyro Gyra – Para Ti Latino – Ravi Raman: This is one group that seems to have disappeared from radio nowadays. I used to listen to them, and bands like Yes & Bread, a lot. Revisited their music and found this gem.

Coasters – Shopping For Clothes – tincanman: Who among us hasn’t imagined themselves as a large cross-dressed black man with a gruff voice shopping in Macy’s with the Pink Panther? 

The Wailers – All Day, All Night – goneforeign: You’ve probably heard the Island record version of this but this is ‘The Wailers’, not BMW. This was recorded in the early 70’s, before Bob signed with Island, Bob, Bunny and Tosh.

Wishbone Ash – Errors of My Way – AliM: Heard this again recently. Remembered why I liked Wishbone Ash back in the day. It’s from their eponymous debut album, in 1970. (46 years ago? Really??!!)

Image Copyright: <a href=’http://www.123rf.com/profile_andreyuu’>andreyuu / 123RF Stock Photo</a>

12 thoughts on “Earworms 24 October 2016

  1. Wishbone Ash!! Unabashed fan here and one of the first rock shows I went to here. Even travelled with them for a couple of weeks. So even though I was pre-disposed to pick them as my weekly fave, I’m going to give the spoon to the Coasters. Eddi Reader was just classy. Liked both the reggae songs. Tbh I thought the first was somehow linked to the Thin Lizzy song. That was of course only till I listened.
    Lovely set. Thank you all and of course thanks Ali for putting it together.

  2. Loved this Wailers version of All Day All Night. I think I generally prefer the recordings with all three of them. Eddi Reader has a beautiful voice. Loved the track here and will watch out for the compilation. Coasters track was good fun.
    Not a big fan of Wishbone Ash or Spyro Gyra but – they were OK. Just not my thing. Preferred the Spyro Gyra on the whole. Wishbone Ash reminded me of CSN for some reason. I don’t expect anyone to agree about that.

  3. The Equators – Feel Like Making Love Nice. Lover’s Rock sort of track. I remember hearing this back in the distant past, but I’ve definitely never heard the dub version, which I thought was terrific.

    Eddi Reader – Love is a Losing Game I was never really much of a fan of Fairground Attraction so Eddi Reader’s career has pretty much passed me by, but I remember her as a backing singer and in the TV series “Your Cheatin’ Heart”. This was very nice, classy performance indeed, but Amy casts a huge shadow.

    Spyro Gyra – Para Ti Latino– Ravi Raman: I thought that this was great fun. I used to work with a chap who was a big fan and he gave me a tape of their Incognito album. If this has a fault, it is that it is too smooth. I kept on wanting some Carlos Santana-style guitar pyrotechnics.

    Coasters – Shopping For Clothes This is such a great record. I’ve not heard it in years, so it was a real pleasure to listen again. It always reminds me of the track Mud Shark on the Mothers of Invention album Fillmore East – June 1971, but obviously not as obscene.

    The Wailers – All Day, All Night Once again, very enjoyable. It is always good to hear the Wailers before they got repackaged for the white rock audience.

    Wishbone Ash – Errors of My Way Lovely stuff. One of my favourite bands from those distant days when cheesecloth ruled the Earth. Their first three albums are their best. So evocative. I’ve not heard this in literally decades.

    I’ll make The Wailers my top choice this week, mainly because I knew all the others apart from the Eddi Reader one, which was nice, but not Amy.

Leave a Reply

