Tune of the Week #4

You know the drill by now.  Pick a tune you heard this week and want to share, and add it to the playlist.  Could be a new release, discovered or rediscovered oldie, a tune you stumbled across, or what you’re listening to these days, and add it to the list.  (Or we’ll help you out, Wyngate.)

Click to Add

I’ve been trying to catch up on the psych/garage/surf/stoner releases for 2016.  On first listens so far, unimpressed by the Allah-Las and the Temples single.  No single standout tune for me from Ty Segall’s Emotional Mugger, whole album seems to me to be a pleasant guitar sludge of buzz, fuzz, feedback and squeals.  A decent tune or three on Thee Oh Sees’ Weird Exits, some kinda boring instrumentals, and a couple i’ve already forgotten about.  This one sounds like a lot of their older tunes, which is fine.  I’m hoping for better luck with the nice looking trove of Aussie psych.

 

 

21 thoughts on “Tune of the Week #4

  1. My brother really likes a band called Birdeatsbaby. I like some of what I’ve heard but only just caught up with a song of theirs called Spiders. It’s a couple of years old but my brother posted it on Facebook for Hallowe’en. The fact that it also features Gabby Young may have something to do with me liking this so much.

  2. I have added Pink Floyd’s Interstellar Overdrive because we watched the film Dr Strange this afternoon and it caught me by surprise when this track was suddenly playing. So familiar to me and yet can still provoke a strong emotional reaction. I liked the film, Tilda was good.

  3. I came across this collective called Snarky Puppy. Apparently they have a huge bunch of musicians and a sort of revolving door policy. I’ve added a song called Brother, I’m Hungry to the list.

  4. Amy – here’s some garagey fuzz for you and one of my favourite things to listen to this week and this year.

    The Nots should be on the playlist in a sec.!

  5. Currently got early 1990’s trance, Faithless or Barry White compilations playing in the car. Pekka Streng’s “Kesämaa”, Yona and Panssarijuna are being played when in the house. And Northern soul is what I’m playing on the laptop. I’ll add The Valentino’s “Sweeter Than The Day Before”.

  6. I have a proper new tune of the week but can’t find the time to figure out adding it to the list.
    If someone could do the honours with Emili Sande’s Hurts, please?
    She opened last week’s Later … show with it; the single version has slightly more subdued guitar, sadly (for me).

  7. Having to change browsers as my old one wasn’t working (I have far to much going on to work out what I signed into youtube and everything as) had a really shit week with my mum dying and shit – so I bought myself an orange vinyl by City Yelps called The City Yelps Half Hour (there’s about 6 left on Bandcamp) yet another Leeds based psych/garage/surf/stoner release from OddBoxRecords – this is an old video from a past single featuring *warning* retro nudity:



  8. I spent last weekend with an old friend and we shared a whole heap of music so I came back with loads of new stuff to listen to. I also stumbled across Killing Joke’s In Dub album this week – what a cracker! Anyway, I’m sharing a track by a Washington Rap outfit called Diamond District. One of the 3, called Oddisee, also does his own instrumental mellow tunes; worth checking out also.

  9. Well, I didn’t think I’d have anything to offer, but today I was listening to the outtakes and alternate versions that are on CDs 2 and 3 of the Deluxe reissue of Coda. I was given all the deluxe reissues for Christmas last year, but somehow never got round to listening to CD2 from Coda before.

    Anyway, my offering is “Baby, Come On Home”, which was recorded in 1968 when Led Zeppelin were still called The New Yardbirds. This YouTube video had a load of extraneous stuff at the beginning, so skip to around 3 minutes in and the track starts soon after.

Leave a Reply

