Tune of the Week #8

Simple rule for newbies or stragglers – pick a tune you heard this week and want to share, and add it to the playlist.  Could be a new release, discovered or rediscovered oldie, a tune you stumbled across, or what you’re listening to these days.

Add Your Tune Here

I never understood the Weak Force, and i never deeply understood the magnetic portion of the Electromagnetic force, although i could fake it by crunching the numbers.  Nevermind the Electroweak.  So while i was delighted when the folks at CERN discovered the Higgs Boson, the particle that gives the other particles their mass,  and preserves the symmetry of the standard model, i can’t say that i really understand it except at the most superficial level.  I’m not convinced that Nick Cave really grasps it either, and i sure don’t grasp what he’s trying to say about the Higgs either, except he doesn’t seem overly excited at the discovery.  But it’s all good, the album is a perfect listen for this grey and quiet day.  Sing the phone book to me.

23 thoughts on “Tune of the Week #8

  1. Big son is off to visit CERN next year, his A level physics work is way over my head, but I like Nick Cave’s song. My favourite this week is by new Leeds band FEHM. I’ll add it to the list 🙂

  2. There is a previously unreleased track called Moonbeam Levels on the new Prince Best Of compilation 4Ever. It was played on BBC6Music and, because I bought the album as a Christmas present for someone, I have it downloaded. I’m not sure that I ought to post the track here and it doesn’t seem to be generally available anyway.

  3. I’ll go for Clouds that cover the sun from Toy’s new album having seen them last week and had a chance to check the album out.

    • Thanks, and Ravi/Sev for trying. I’ll do a YT of it when I get back though of course may also get blocked. Isn’t there an add-on that scrambles your location and allows you to watch these? I meant to check that out as I haven’t used it myself.

  4. I’ve added The Day Is Yours by The Lost T-Shirts of Atlantis. back in the early 1990s, Kathy and I would frequent The Grand in Battersea/Clapham Junction and this noveau skiffle band was one of our favourites. Long forgotten I thought but they seem to be all over the Youtubes.

  5. Hullo everybody. I’m Scott, I’m also misterbadexample at RR; I added the Elle King song above effortlessly; and I’ve just spent a fruitless hour trying to use an ancient wordpress account to add this comment.

    Is this normal?

    🙂

    • Hi Scott!

      I’m not sure how it works to add a comment under your own name / profile, or if you have to be logged in to just WordPress in general, or this blog in particular. If you want to make your own posts, you can email Blimpy at the address under the “Contact” tab above, and he’ll give you the keys to the castle to be able to post. I’m otherwise usually too lazy to log in and just comment by putting my moniker under the “Fill in details…” field that shows up when you click to comment.

    • Hi mbe. I don’t have a WordPress or FB account. I can’t post a column or start a topic like Amylee has done here. Otherwise I can post comments etc without any problem.
      PS: where did Hobbes go? Excited to see another fan.

Leave a Reply

