Christmas Earworms 19 December 2016


62177462 - sunburned santa biker riding motorcycle on summer vacations

Here are this year’s festive worms for your entertainment. Thanks to everyone, have a wonderful Christmas, and don’t forget to keep the worms coming to earwom@tincanland.com where they will be looked after by the ‘Spill elves until Boxing Day. “Look to the future now, it’s only just begun …”

Marianne Sveen – O Holy Night, and Let it Snow – severin: I am not sure if these tracks are going to be released in any other way or just put on Soundcloud. Anyway, at the moment, if you play “O Holy Night”, it goes straight into “Let It Snow” as a “related track” but I am sending a separate link to both. Both songs by Marianne Sveen – ex of Katzenjammer. Dandylion is her other band but these are actually solo efforts, put together at her home studio. She says she will be publishing a Christmas song “every Sunday until Christmas Eve”.

Destiny’s Child – Rudolph the Red-Nosed Reindeer / Doris Day – Here Comes Santa Claus / Michael Jackson – Rockin’ Robin – AliM: Uncharacteristically cheerful but true to my promise of doing something cheesy. Happy Christmas everybody, and thanks for all the worms.

Eek-A-Mouse – Night Before Christmas / George Harrison – Ding Dong, Ding Dong / Handsome Family – So Much Wine – / Lightnin’ Hopkins – Santa – tincanman: Happy Holidays!

Dennis Alcapone, Tipper Ire – Dancehall Christmas / Sister Rosetta Tharpe – Little Town of Bethlehem / Kenny Burrell – Merry Christmas Baby / Roland Kirk Quartet – We Free Kings – goneforeign: goneforeign told me to take my pick, but I can’t make my mind up (Ed.)

Prince – Another Lonely Christmas – abahachi: I hadn’t actually heard this until this year, when the Purple One’s demise prompted me to replace my old cassettes of various of his albums with shiny new CDs, and the Hits one came with a bonus CD of singles, rareties etc. “The doctor said you were dead, and I said it’s senseless…” That’s 2016 for you, but we still have the music.

BB King – Back Door Santa – CaroleBristol: Here’s some BB King for Christmas. Nothing really needs to be said about this, except that it is excellent.

Over the Rhine – Darlin’ (Christmas is Coming) – glassarfemptee: Over the Rhine do a great line in Xmas songs. Here’s one that catches the Zeitgeist “So it’s been a long year/ every new day brings one more tear/ til there’s nothing left to cry/ my my how time flies/ like little children hiding their eyes/ to make it disappear/ let’s start a brand new year”. Oh, and for UK based OtR fans, they have a London gig in April.

Clint Mansell – First Snow – glassarfemptee: As an atheist, I’ve not much time for Xmas, but most of us in the UK have had snow this year already. Here’s Clint Mansell with “First Snow”.

DEADBEAR – Snow in Tokyo – glassarfemptee: As we have had some seasonal coatings of the white stuff, let’s picture it falling on the Meiji shrine, and then on the frenetic consumerism of the Shinjuku shopping district a couple of stops away on the Yamanote line. Deadbear’s electronic noodlings gives us a hint of Manuel Göttsching in this inspired laptop production.

Jerry Garcia Acoustic Band – Christmas Time’s a-Coming – tfd: I got invited by Jerry Garcia (another dead person – or Dead person, even) on Facebook to download this track for free. So I did, and unlike the Christmas offerings of many another rock star, dead or otherwise, it’s really rather good.

Ramsey Lewis Trio – Sleigh Ride, / Roy Hargrove & Christian McBride – Frosty the Snowman – Ravi Raman: Hope your festivities are merry and the new year is a very happy and fulfilling one.

Mogwai – Christmas Song – DsD: It’s been such a shit year on so many levels that I can’t in good conscience send you any uplifting or cheery Christmas tunes. You’ll have to make do with my all-time fave at this time of year.

Go Home Productions – Christmas In Boston – DsD: DsMam just looked over my shoulder as I was typing and called me a miserable ****. Go on then; here’s something a little more cheery and Spill-friendly.

LCD Soundsystem – Christmas Will Break Your Heart – Shoegazer: Here’s a gloomy newish xmas tune, before I forget.

Sharon Jones and the Dap Kings – Silver Bells / This is the Kit – Christmas Time is Here / This is the Kit – La Peregrinación – DebbyM: My choice is “La Peregrinácion” by This Is The Kit, my ‘find’ of the year after TheBoyWonder saw her at a festival in Berlin. I’m also including her “Christmas Time Is Here”, which is also rather nice. I’ve been listening to “It’s A Holiday Soul Party” by Sharon Jones & the Dap-Kings too, and I’d really like one of her tracks on the playlist, but I can’t decide which one! I’m assuming there’ll be lots of suggestions for those artists who’ve left us for St Peter this year – God knows there’s enough of them – so maybe someone else will have suggested one of her songs anyway. (They haven’t, so I chose “Silver Bells” – Ed.)

Kate Rusby – Hail, Chime On – AliM: You can’t have Christmas in West Yorkshire without Kate Rusby. Happy Christmas everybody.

 

Image Copyright: rafinade / 123RF Stock Photo

18 thoughts on “Christmas Earworms 19 December 2016

  1. Ooh! A whole sledge full of baubles. Will listen later. Warmest winter wishes to all you wormers. And especially for Ali, for keeping the show on the road. Cheers!

  2. Well, that was lovely. So many great tunes. Well done ‘wormers and well done Ali for putting this together.

    Merry Christmas to all ‘Spillers, and let’s hope for a better 2017 that what we’ve had this year.

  3. Wow! What a lot music. Thanks to all and an especially extra cheery shout out to Ali, the presiding deity of The Worms.…👑
    I am unable to interact as everything, from power to broadband has not yet been fully restored.
    Merry Christmas and a happy new year to all.

  4. Saving these up for tonight’s washing up.
    Sorry I didn’t get round to sending anything, I was planning to..

    Here’s Gruff:

  5. I’ve listened to the first half of this list whilst MummyP has been at midnight mass, and will take in the second half whilst cooking later this morning. Lovely stuff, thank you Ali and contributors, and a very Happy Christmas to all ! Xx

Leave a Reply

