Earworms 13 March 2017

Greetings from Earworm land, I hope this reasonably cheerful selection finds you well. I’ve been under the weather recently, but my attempts to recover by treating my body as a temple were foiled tonight, when the dog ate my vitamin tablet. So it’s back to beer and crisps for me, and a long and invigorating walk for the dog. Many thanks to all contributors – if you have a tune you would like to share, please send an .mp3 to earworm@tincanland.com, with a few lines about why you’ve chosen it. Thank’ee.

Ben Wendel – Song Song – glassarfemptee: Canadian saxophonist Ben Wendel is now New York based. This is track is from last year’s album “What we bring”, and has a timeless classic period feel.

Animal Collective – Jimmy Mack – tincanman: How do you take a break from making weird, experimental pop? Listen to Motown, apparently. This Martha & The Vandellas cover is from the loose collective’s new EP, The Painters, just out last month (Feb).

The Penguins – Let’s Make Some Love – severin: The chaps who recorded my favourite Doo Wop song “Earth Angel”. Personally, I think they could do no wrong. This is a belter.

Screamin’ Jay Hawkins – I Put A Spell On You – Ravi Raman: I’m so used to CCR playing this, and Etta James. Surprised to find out that this is the original.  Shows how much I know.

Monkey Warhol – Beige – AliM: Minneapolis-based electronic music producer Monkey Warhol has shared this track with us. It’s very catchy. More bio on bandcamp: https://monkeywarhol.bandcamp.com/

The Wooden Sky – You’re not Alone – AliM: From the Toronto based band’s upcoming new album “Swimming In Strange Waters” coming April 7 2017. “Drawing its title from a line in Frank Herbert’s 1965 sci-fi novel, Dune – “Survival is the ability to swim in strange water” – The Wooden Sky’s fifth full-length record finds frontman and multi-instrumentalist Gavin Gardiner matching personal trauma against the increasingly bleak political climate we find ourselves in.” https://soundcloud.com/nevado/the-wooden-sky-youre-not-alone-1

Image Copyright: <a href=’https://www.123rf.com/profile_ayerst’>ayerst / 123RF Stock Photo</a>

9 thoughts on “Earworms 13 March 2017

  1. Ben Wendel – Song Song This definitely does have a timeless classic feel. It sounds like late 50s/early 60s Blue Note jazz, and that surely has to be a good thing. Lovely piano work and the sax is sublime. This is all crisp monochrome photography, sunglasses, sharp suits and little tailored shift dresses.

    Animal Collective – Jimmy Mack Yes, this couldn’t really be anyone else. It is definitely Animal Collective. Not a patch on Laura Nyro and Labelle’s cover on the “Gonna Take a Miracle” album, which is even better than the original, but an interesting take on a classic nevertheless.

    Screamin’ Jay Hawkins – I Put A Spell On You Sheer unhinged genius, sadly not a hit for Screamin’ Jay himself but a personal fave of many years standing.

    The Penguins – Let’s Make Some Love Cor! What a belter indeed. Never heard this before. Brilliant stuff, reminds me of Louis Jordan.

    Monkey Warhol – Beige This really reminds me of something, weirdly something AOR. Toe-tapping stuff, though and rather enjoyable.

    The Wooden Sky – You’re not Alone Nice organ intro. Not sure about his voice at first, although it grows on me as the song develops, neither am I convinced about having a harmonica taking a lead role in the instrumental part. The whistling-kettle synth was a bit annoying too.

    For me, it has to be a tie between Ben Wendel and The Penguins. It would be invidious to choose just one. Both were excellent.

  2. Love the jazz sax in the first track – gorgeous. And the odd take on Jimmy Mack. One of the few songs I definitely recall being on Juke Box Jury back in the sixties. Screamin’ Jay is/was bonkers in a good way. Wasn’t he the hotel receptionist in Mystery Train (the film)? I must watch that again. Monkey Warhols seemed almost disappointingly normal but I liked them fine as Joni would say.
    Not sure about Wooden Sky. Nicely laid back in some ways but that synth noise really did distract from the feel of the thing.
    Nice mix.

  3. Yes, nice batch. Jimmy Mack was suitably different from the original to excite. The Penguins were cool – excuse the drollery – and I think I have yet to hear some doo-wop I didn’t like! Screamin’ Jay was top stuff, and slightly reminds me of the menace of The crazy world of Arthur Brown in Fire, crossed with the gothic horror laughter of BB’s Monster Mash. The Monkey Warhols was enjoyable pop, and reminds me of a track that eludes me.

    The Penguins get the prize this week, winning by a short beak.

    Hope you are recovered now Ali…

Leave a Reply

