Earworms 20 March 2017

Another day, another worm (or six) – here’s this week’s selection for you to enjoy. Thanks to all contributors – if anyone has an earworm they would like to share, please send an .mp3 to earworm@tincanland.com together with a short paragraph about why you’ve chosen it. Happy Monday!

case/lang/veirs – 1000 Miles Away: CaroleBristol: I bought the case/lang/veirs album a few weeks back and I’ve been playing it a fair bit. It is a collaboration between k.d lang, Neko Case and Laura Veirs. I bought it because I liked the single, “Best Kept Secret” released from it, but the one that has stuck in my head is this song, “1000 Miles Away“. It is a classic ballad.

Blackie & The Rodeo Kings – House Of Soul – tincanman: Daniel Lanois told this side project of fellow Canadians Stephen Fearing, Colin Linden and Lee Harvey Osmond they could have his song IF they made him cry playing it. With help from Garth Hudson, Pam Tillis and Lanois himself, they did.

City By the Sea – Good Shoes – severin: This is the band from Morden who recorded the song “Morden”. So I’m kind of biased. From their second and final album “No Hope, No Future” and about as bleak and melancholy as that sounds. Still sounds beautiful to me. In a sad kind of way.

King Curtis – Games People Play – Ravi Raman: Picked up this King Curtis cover of the Joe South hit while searching for some songs with the Electric Sitar. Here it’s Duane Allman.

Marvin Powell – Salt – AliM: From Wavertree (Liverpool), Marvin Powell will release his debut EP “Salt” today (20 March). This is the excellent title track and lead single. He is on tour in March with She Drew The Gun, dates are: Fri 24 London, Oslo / Sat 25 Liverpool, Central Library / Sun 26 Newcastle, The Cluny / Tue 28 Bath, Komedia Arts Café / Wed 29 Bristol, The Exchange / Thu 30 Manchester, The Deaf Institute. https://soundcloud.com/skeletonkey-1/marvin-powell-01-salt

Divisionists – Say Can You – AliM: “Friday (March 17) brings the release of the long-awaited ‘Daybreak’ debut album from London power pop quintet DIVISIONISTS after a massive response for their first single ‘Say Can You’ and charting on various stations … The ‘Daybreak’ LP is available digitally and on vinyl via Mount Watatic Records directly from the band’s Bandcamp. Pressed on 180 Gram orange vinyl, the record also includes a full-colour folded insert with artwork and lyrics.” https://soundcloud.com/user-530816254/divisionists-say-can-you

Image Copyright: <a href=’https://www.123rf.com/profile_silverjohn’>silverjohn / 123RF Stock Photo</a>

7 thoughts on “Earworms 20 March 2017

  1. Blackie & The Rodeo Kings– House Of SoulLovely segue into this track from my opening one. Excellent work there, Ali. This is a lovely thing, achingly sad and really beautifully performed.

    City By the Sea – Good Shoes So far, today’s ‘worms have matched the drizzly grey weather. This has a certain charm, though. It reminds me of Postcard Records bands, not that that is a bad thing at all.

    King Curtis – Games People Play I’ve heard this before, but despite liking both King Curtis AND Duane Allman this fails to move me. There is nothing wrong with it, but it really needs the words.

    Marvin Powell – Salt Yeah, It’s OK, enjoyable even. It definitely grew on me on a second hearing. Not bad at all.

    Divisionists – Say Can You I do like a bit of power pop, and if you throw in some distorted guitars and a bit of a wig-out from the lead guitarist, I tend to like it even more. Yep, I liked this one.

    So, what did I like best?

    Blackie & The Rodeo Kings was excellent, but filled with melancholy. It would have been my fave but while Divisionists were busily plank-spanking in a psychedelic garage band manner, the sun came out and it lifted my spirits enormously, so for that reason I shall give them the prize.

  2. We all went kinda mellow this week eh? Gentle set with that popy end.

    Even if I was not a huge fan of k d lang, I would have liked this. Totally new as well. And even though it didn’t make me cry enjoyed House of Souls much as I did Good Shoes.

    But Marvin Powell is my pick for the week, lovely. Thanks all/Ali

  3. Well the first three certainly set a melancholy, laid-back mood.
    I really enjoyed the case/lang/veirs track. KD has such a beautiful voice and I don’t own a single album by her. Scandalous!
    Blackie & The Rodeo Kings was lovely too. Liked it more on the second listen which is a good sign. King Curtis was a bit more sprightly and I liked it but but I didn’t read Carole’s comment before listening and kept waiting for the singing to start.
    Marvin Powell was laid-back but I didn’t really get into it as much as the others. It was enjoyable though. I’ve only listened the once so maybe it takes time to grow.
    Divisionists – Well that woke me up! I did wonder if it would have sounded quite so exhilarating in different company and eventually decided, yes it would.Great stuff.

  4. You guys have such great taste!
    I hadn’t heard of the Female Super Group, but loved the track – the singing, lyrics and instrumentation are spot on. A good find for me to follow up.
    House of Soul was terrific too – as anything touched by Lanois seems to be. Didn’t make me cry, but did make me want to hear more.
    Good shoes do a lovely bit of jangly pop, and it’s a real earworm too. And from end of the line Morden – can it get any better!
    The King Curtis didn’t have the kick of originality, but the familiar tune made it slip down easily.
    Marvin Powell continued the smooth theme, and I liked the quirky voice style as well as the picking.
    Then a twist in the tail, with the Divisionists breaking the spell and really kicking off.
    Not a dud anywhere in sight, but the contenders for top spot this week are Blackie and the Rodeo Kings and Case/Lang/Veirs – and the latter take it by a short head.

Leave a Reply

