The Wheel of Your Tune

Hi ‘Spillers

I thought I’d shamelessly steal an idea from a radio programme I listen to for a little bit of fun.  The Wheel of Your Tune works like this; I metaphorically turn my spinning top to reveal a random letter and number.  The letter relates to an artist or the name of an album in my collection and the number relates to the track by that artist or on that album.  This week’s spin landed on C and 9.

My nomination this week is Brazilian group CSS and the 9th track on their 2005 album Cansei de Ser Sexy, Alcohol.

Please play along and nominate your C9 tracks.

26 thoughts on “The Wheel of Your Tune

  1. Track 2 on the B side of Take Dis (7 tracks on A side = 9 I think) –
    Credit to The Nation with Sowing the seeds of Hatred

    Sadly 1994 = 2017 – preaching unity is always worth repeating.

      • it sounds like it could be an ace post – my ability to help with the ‘discussing’ is being tried to the limits at the moment. (I’m hoping the school holidays will help – let the boys go feral and peace will reign supreme).

        I did a CD mix for steenbeck and sent it over to the US, of beats and British hip-hop back in the distant past, when she played on RR more – I wonder if I can find a copy to see what I subjected her too.

  2. I am going to pick an album by The Clash, which will be London Calling, with another C. The 9th track on the album is Clampdown, which happily also begins with the letter C.

  3. I was inclined to pick Career Opportunities from the first Clash album but as we’ve had a Clash track already I’ll go for another song from the same year. From the Two Sevens Clash LP by Culture, track nine is “See Them a Come”.

    • This is a great choice! I’ve got this track on a great compilation by Don Letts called Dread Meets Punk Rockers Uptown. I just found out this week there is a 2nd volume of this released in 2015. Going to listen to it later.

  4. The ninth track of Captain Beffheart’s Clear Spot is Long Neck Bottles:

    “Woman like long neck bottles
    And a big head on her beer”

    Still true after all these years, I reckon.

  5. The first artist to pop into my head beginning with the letter C was Chris Bowden; jazz saxophonist who started in the K-Creative, then onto The Herbaliser, and in between recorded the ‘Time Capsule’ LP.
    So here’s track 9 ‘Retrospective’

  6. I like this idea. Trouble I’ve had is I like loads of bands beginning with “C” but they don’t seem to put anything very interesting as track 9, or if they do it’s not on youtube. There’s a couple of good Clash ones, but The Clash are already represented.
    Instead here’s Contempt with Don’t Go from their Still Fighting On album, one of my favourites in the 90s.

  7. I am late, but also like the idea, so many C bands for me too (but not as many as S), I shall opt for the Cure’s Just Like Heaven because it’s wonderful and also has a video unlike several other tracks I considered.

Leave a Reply

