The Wheel of Your Tune

The Wheel of Your Tune works like this; I metaphorically turn my spinning top to reveal a random letter and number.  The letter relates to an artist or the name of an album in my collection and the number relates to the track by that artist or on that album.  This week’s spin landed on P and 6.

The first album I came to a stop at under P when I flicked through my list of albums was a compilation called Philadelphia Roots: Funk, Soul and the Roots of Disco 1965-73 vol 1.  Track 6 on the first CD is Take It Easy Soul Brother by Corner Boys and Friends.  Enjoy!

What is your P6 track?

 

Here’s the YouTube playlist of previous suggestions for you to add to as well as posting here:

26 thoughts on “The Wheel of Your Tune

  1. My spreadsheet tells me that the sixth artist in my collection whose name begins with the letter P is Gram Parsons. The album I’m choosing is Grevious Angel and the track is the opener, “Return of the Grievous Angel”.

  2. Dan the Automator and Emily Wells collaboration – they called themselves Pillowtalk (there’s at least one other band also called pillowtalk so in the uk this was hard to find initially) – this is track 6 ‘Redemption’ – it samples “Profundo Rosso” from the horror movie Deep Red.

    I was slightly obsessed with Emily Wells music for a while – she produces some excellent sounds with her live sampling. Check out ‘the symphonies: dreams memories and parties’ album if you don’t know her’ and her cover of ‘Juicy’.

    • I really, really like that. I’ve never heard of her, but notice she’s just released a new EP called In the Hot. YouTube link not working in the UK unfortunately.

      • Cheers for the heads up – I haven’t purchased any music this month yet (what’s the date?) – so I just got it!
        Looks like some live arrangements of other tracks that I have already – anyone else and I’d be a bit mad about that. But she is excellently experimental with her looping of stringed instruments live so it should be different. Will let you know how it sounds when I get a chance to listen this evening.

  3. Several P’s to choose from but I’ll go with Peej. The sixth track on her debut Dry is Sheela-Na-Gig. Deal with it!

  4. Rarely do I like a whole album. But Pull Up Some Dust and Sit Down by Ry Cooder is one that I listen to start to finish. Sarcastic, angry and, as in this case, moving. #6 is Christmas Time This Year.

    When is Santa coming ’round ’cause I got some requests
    I bet he knows it’s Christmas time this year
    Military personnel might not be on his list
    Don’t he know it’s Christmas time this year
    All I want is two good arms so I can hold my kids
    Then they’lI know it’s Christmas time this year
    I’d like a mouth so I can kiss my honey on her lips
    Then she’ll know it’s Christmas time this year

  5. Eugene doesn’t seem to be track six on either Relics or Ummagumma so I’ve pulled out my luminous vinyl copy of Moving Targets by Penetration.

    Track six is Stone Heroes. The studio album version isn’t on Youtube but there is a Peel session and several live versions. I think the peel session is closest to the recording but this live version has more oomph.
    Anyway – It’s an album I tend to forget about for ages and then rediscover and play to death.

    I played it a lot last summer both before and after seeing them at The 100 Club in August. I started out at the front of the stage but when they started playing the old songs, some of the other middle-aged (or just old) men started pogoing and moshing so furiously I had to retreat to the edges of the crowd (wimp).

  6. P stands for Petty, and Like A Diamond is the sixth track on Tom Petty and the Heartbreakers’ album The Last DJ. This is the album version, the one with strings – I actually prefer the Live Anthology version, but that’s not track 6 and anyway I’m posting it on Facebook tomorrow as Day 31: a song that reminds you of yourself. (Bit of a preview for you there!)

    By the way, I notice people are posting direct links again – is this OK now?

      • Sorry about that – completely forgot (it’s been a long time since I did a series on here and had to badger people NOT to embed youtube directly) – will remember next time.

      • In the past, when the threads got big, some of us found it impossible to get pages to display unless people linked the youtube videos rather than embedding them. It’s not a sin though 🙂

      • The trick is to pretend that you are going to post the YT link to the Guardian site. Then, when you have clicked on the link button and added the url and all that, you don’t post it.
        You just cut and paste it here. Of course, I keep forgetting to do this.

Leave a Reply

