Earworms 3 April 2017

Hey, it’s April already, we’re still here, the world is still turning and the birds still sing. Here’s a fine selection of human singing by way of an accompaniment. Thank you to all contributors – if you have an earworm you’d like to share, please send an .mp3 to earworm@tincanland.com, along with a few lines about why you’ve chosen it. Happy listening.

The Melodians – Sweet Sensation – severin: Mellow, rock-steady sound from the 1970s. The same group who recorded Rivers of Babylon, before the Bony M version of course. I’m not sure if this was nominated when we did songs about sweetness. I know I forgot to – which is why I’m sending it to Ali now.

Wimps – Old Guy – tincanman: From the Seattle punks’ 2015 album Suitcase. Probably sheer co-incidence that my first thought when it popped up the other night was “earworms!” 🙂

Robert Randolph and the Family Band – Travelling Cheeba Man – Ravi Raman: the standout track, for me, from their latest album Got Soul. (Don’t have a clue as to what or who a Cheeba Man is.) (I think the illustration may be a clue – Ed.)

Building Instrument – Fall – abahachi: This album was a birthday present from MrStepAbahachi, and it’s fair to say that I’m still making up my mind about it, but at the very least it’s intriguing: a Norwegian trio doing a sort of improvised abstract electronica thing, with elements of folk and jazz. Bits of this remind me of This Mortal Coil’s version of Song to the Siren, bits of it remind me of…something else.

William Fitzsimmons – Gold in Shadow – AliM: I found this on Soundcloud and promptly bought the album. Fitzsimmons is an American singer-songwriter, whose music has featured on shows such as “Grey’s Anatomy”. Both his parents were blind, and he apparently developed his multi instrumentalist abilities from them. More here: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/William_Fitzsimmons_(musician)

Lunar Twin – Night Tides – AliM: I’ve come across Lunar Twin before, and like what they do. They say: “A few years after a chance meeting at the Denver Underground Music festival, Bryce Boudreau and Chris Murphy started working under the Lunar Twin moniker in 2013.  They derived the band’s name from a theory about earth having possibly had a twin moon. Inspired by space and time, as well as nature and culture.” This is from their latest, dreamwave, eponymous EP.

https://lunartwin.bandcamp.com/album/night-tides

Image Copyright: <a href=’https://www.123rf.com/profile_kuco’>kuco / 123RF Stock Photo</a>

6 thoughts on “Earworms 3 April 2017

  1. Two in a row that I enjoyed in a nostalgic kind of way. The Wimps were nicely lo fi. Describes a situation we all become familiar with in time.Then, of course, you realise that what you thought was being old was, in fact mere childhood.
    Robert Randolph etc reminded me a bit of the Allman Brothers – who I haven’t listened to in decades so I’m probably wrong. The sort of thing I enjoy when I hear it but don’t tend to search out. Liked the guitar.
    Hang on, this isn’t The Fall. Oh, I see it’s called Fall by Building Instrument. Well top marks for atmospherics and. yes, I rather like this. Oh, they’re Norwegian, that explains it.
    William Fitzsimmons – this is very gentle and intimate and, I think, needs a few more listens.
    Lunar Twin (as is so often the case) reminded me of someone but I don’t know who it is. Could have fitted into a David Lynch film I think. Starts quite unobtrusively but builds.

  2. The Melodians – Sweet Sensation A song I know well and always enjoy hearing. Classic stuff.

    Wimps – Old Guy This reminds me a bit of The Buzzcocks vocally to my ears and musically like early Joy Division. I am constantly amazed at how punk continues to flourish in the USA. This track is OK, but it hasn’t really got me that excited.

    Robert Randolph and the Family Band – Travelling Cheeba Man I thought we were getting a George Duke period Frank Zappa-style workout from the opening, and that comes back with the chorus. It is a real Southern Fried Boogie offering, isn’t it? Great Fun. I reckon that this would have set the crowd alight at a Knebworth one-dayer back in the 1970s.

    Building Instrument – Fall There is something a bit reminiscent of This Mortal Coil in places. It also reminds me of The Cocteau Twins, so perhaps the 4AD influence is strong in parts of Norway, but presumably different parts to the ones where biker Satanists set fire to mediaeval churches? Anyway, I really rather liked this. The words charming and enchanting spring to mind.

    William Fitzsimmons – Gold in Shadow This is a very nice, intimate song, nice guitar work too. Very enjoyable.

    Lunar Twin – Night TidesThat was very nice. I really enjoyed its lazy, drifting feel and I think that the vocals worked well. By the by, their next track on Soundcloud, Blood Moon is also a really nice piece.

    Oh, dear, decision time. What did I like best? It was either Building Instrument or Lunar Twin and I really can’t decide, so the plaudits are shared.

  3. Wow, great set again this week – you guys have such sweet taste! Hips swayed to a nice bit of old skool reggae from Melodians, then the Wimps sing about me! (Great opening bass line). RR & the Family Band was terrific stuff, starting like Mahavishnu Orchestra then seguing into an Allman Brothers feel. What’s not to like. Then the strangeness of Building Instrument is like a cold compress. Lunar Twin starts like a swooshing soundtrack, then moves on to nice percussion with languid vocals, like sippin’ whiskey. Roberts Randolph and the Family Band are kings of the hill this week.

  4. I was at a bar on Sunday when Led Zep’s Trampled Under Foot came up. I seemed to be the only one who knew what Plant was singing. And the next day I hear tincanman’s Old Guy! What a coincidence! or OMG as my fellow revellers would say.
    I’ve only heard the Rivers of Babylon by The Melodians before and that too at Song-Bar when it got zedded. My reggae collection is woefully slim and putting some heft in it is my goal for the year.
    Fall is going straight to my early morning playlist. Lovely.
    Liked Gold In Shadow a lot and the one I am enjoying more with each listen. But i surprised myself by liking Lunar Twin’s Night Tides the most.
    Thanks for the list Ali and especially for the heads up on the Robert Randolph album. And now I know what Chiba is as well. A very good week overall 🙂

    • Thanks Ravi. I’ll see if I have any reggae I can share with you, though I think most of it is on cassette (which isn’t much help!!)

Leave a Reply

