Earworms 10 April 2017

Happy Monday to you all, I hope you found some sunshine over the weekend. Here are this week’s worms for your listening pleasure – next week is Easter weekend so if you have any Easter-themed worms, or indeed, any worms at all that you want to share, please send them to earworm@tincanland.com with a few lines about why you’ve chosen them. Thanks to all contributors.

Richie Havens – Tombstone Blues – severin: We were discussing films about Dylan on Chris’s movie thread recently. Ravi mentioned “I’m Not There” which reminded me that I hadn’t listened to the soundtrack for a while. I did and this is still the stand-out track for me.

Anthony Weis – Oblivion Studies – AliM: From his new album “Smashed Against Infinity”, he says: “Noisy garage rock, my roots, is what the album ended up becoming.  The goal was the sound of a loud rock band jamming in a garage somewhere …” Not sure if that’s quite on the mark but I like it anyway.

Madushree – Pal Pal Hai Bhaari – Ravi Raman: An A R Rahman composition for a movie.  This is the instrumental version, performed here by studio artists.

Tord Gustavsen – The Way You Play My Heart – glassarfemptee: In my search for more doom jazz, I was pointed towards Norwegian Tord Gustavsen, and his various trios, quartets and ensembles. This track is hardly doom jazz, but it’s very lovely. From the 2016 album “What was said”.

Lorde – Liability – abahachi: To be honest, I’m half dreading Lorde’s new album: after that near-perfect debut, how can it not be a disappointment? The first single, Green Light, is definitely a grower, but I’m still a bit dubious – has something important been lost? This, however, is magnificent, heart-breaking and heroically minimalist.

Lorde – Green Light – tincanman: Some twitter wag described this young NZ pop singer’s new single as a really terrific song purposely made with a benign beginning so radio will be fooled into playing it. https://goo.gl/cs1Ztc

Continue reading