The Wheel of your Tune

The Wheel of Your Tune works like this; I metaphorically turn my spinning top to reveal a random letter and number.  The letter relates to an artist or the name of an album in my collection and the number relates to the track by that artist or on that album.  This week’s spin landed on T and 12.

The first artist whose name begins with T with a full album in my music collection starting with T is Taj Mahal.  The 12th track on the only album of his I own, which is a compilation called World Music, is Black Jack Davey.  This is a traditional folk song, covered many times by artists such as Bob Dylan and The White Stripes.

What is your T12 track?

40 thoughts on “The Wheel of your Tune

  1. Thanks to you I discovered a Ghost Track as well! Much obliged. ( #12 would mean either a double album or a longish one)
    Here’s Shelter from Tedeschi Trucks Band.

  2. Well, if you can have T for Taj I expect I can have T for Tom, even though I’ve already had P for Petty. So here’s TP at his most bluesy
    Lover’s Touch by Tom Petty and the Heartbreakers

  3. Teengenerate were one of Tokyo’s finest garage rock bands. This is the 12th track on their “Get Action!” album:

  4. I am going to pick Throwing Muses as my letter T choice and the 12th and final track on their best (in my opinion) album, The Real Ramona is called Two Step

  5. Most of my albums by people beginning with T have fewer than 12 tracks for some reason. This one makes it to twelve. An eccentric Belgian band which I nominated in R/R this week.

    From the album Chuva em Po by the band Think of One:

    Frevo Pinguin

  6. Talking Heads beckoned but I’ve gone with The Temptations Sing Smokey an LP from 1965 with 12 gorgeous songs ranging from My Girl to You Really Got A Hold On Me and You Can Depend on Me. This is the last track, one of Smokey’s early songs and a soul classic : You Can Depend On Me

    • Do you know, I’ve never heard anything of theirs other than The Race…obviously that has now been resolved. This is very different to that tho.

  7. What’s this British thing with ‘a bit’? Consider deleting ‘a bit’ from those two sentences and see if the meaning changes. Then consider applying it to the entire English language.

    • For me the meaning changes if you delete “a bit”.

      I understand the first sentence as: “I like James Taylor but I realise that for others too much James Taylor might be a bad thing but a small amount shouldn’t hurt.” (I’ve never really listened to James Taylor, so I wouldn’t know, but I would never say “You can never go wrong with James Taylor” as it is too definitive.)

      For me, the second sentence says: “The girl in the video shouldn’t be allowed to wallow in her melancholy but we should respect her sorrow at the end of the affair and not force happiness on her.”

      People in the Black Country used to say: “Ta-ra a bit.” Do they still do that?

      Language is a virus.

      • A bit of slap n tickle: jolly ‘seaside postcard style’ sexual naughtiness.
        SLAP and TICKLE: violent abuse and torture.

        The English language is a mystifying thing.

      • And now May has called a UK general election, so picking apart the actual meaning of English words will become even more difficult. Well, I understand Corbyn, but no one seems to want to listen to his plain speaking style. Oh! Effin’ell! I’m seeing political scenarios and none of them are good for the UK. 😦

      • Very good – go to the head of the class, have provided my own far inferior explanation too. Never heard the “Ta-ra a bit” I’m guessing it means something like “see you in a bit”??

    • Thanks Fuel for attempting to explain the reasoning behind my two “bits” there. You did a pretty good job and I agree with every bit of your summary!
      The use of the word “bit” in the above two comments affirms that it is not necessary to always listen to James Taylor, after all there may be occasions when he just isn’t right, and secondly that it might be good for the girl’s general well-being to attempt a smile every now and again (not always, you understand? – that wouldn’t be appropriate and would be weird (I nearly added another “bit” there)).
      The use of the word “bit” is also indicative of the fact that I only thought a little bit about what I was writing – I just went with my heart – and I didn’t self-edit. After all, I’m not a writer, just someone who enjoys doing it, a bit… 😉

Leave a Reply

