The Wheel of Your Tune

The Wheel of Your Tune works like this; I metaphorically turn my spinning top to reveal a random letter and number.  The letter relates to an artist or the name of an album in my collection and the number relates to the track by that artist or on that album.  This week’s spin landed on F and 4.

The first artist beginning with F with a full album in my collection is Faithless.  I own a few random tracks of theirs that were probably on some sort of compilation.  I also own Outrospective.  The 4th track on this album is the short, but beautifully sweet Crazy English Summer.  Enjoy.

What’s your F4 track?

28 thoughts on “The Wheel of Your Tune

  1. Lots of artists I could choose here, Fairports, Faces, Fat Boy Slim, First Aid Kit, Fleet Foxes etc, but I am going to go with one of my two favourite singers, Ella Fitzgerald (no prizes for guessing the other one, but her surname begins with “F” too).

    In 1963, Ella, backed by the Count Basie Orchestra, released the Ella And Basie!, produced by Quincy Jones.

    The fourth track on that album is THIS

  2. Beautiful! & topical. 6 Music is celebrating the 100th anniversary of her birth later today.
    I first became aware of Ella Fitzgerald in my mid-teens after my mum started obsessing about a song by France Gall called Ella, Elle L’a and I had no idea who she was singing about so my mum dug out a whole stack of stuff for me to listen to.

  3. There is only one choice for me, Fields of the Nephilim may be a shadow of their former selves these days, but they were fierce, faultless, fantastic and fascinating. I still dream of the lead singer. Their live performances are a mystical experience which I cannot communicate in words, here is the fourth song from the album ‘The Nephilim’ Moonchild.

  4. F is for Fatima Mansions. Track 4 on my favourite of their albums, Viva Dead Ponies, is The Door-to-Door Inspector. It’s not on YT though.

  5. I was tempted to pick Wild man Fischer but the fourth track on “An Evening With…” is some nonsense argument on the streets of LA called “Are You From Clovis?”
    I was even more tempted to pick The Fratellis’ as “Whistle For the Choir” is a fourth track but in the end I couldn’t resist George Faith. I imagine few people can.
    Track four on his “To be a Lover” album:

    So Fine

  6. This worked out rather well!

    A genuine favourite of mine is the retro/bluesy/wistful/Canadian/much heavier in the live arena than you might expect/all round good lads combo “The Sheepdogs”. Their fifth album is called Future Nostalgia, and track 4 kind of sums them up. This version starts with a wee explanatory note, too…

    • I can imagine this having been a good move. I particularly like Kuiper pt 1 by Floating Points. First heard it sometime last year. Lovely ambience.

  7. Lots of Fs, Flanagan, Focus, Faithless, Fleetwood Mac, Ali Farka Toure, Free and many more but it has to be Foo Fighters, from “In Your Honour”, here’s the fourth track which is D.O.A.

  8. hmm, rock and a hard place (sisters) and art ghetto (folk devils) leave me with an epic problem (fugazi), so it’ll have to be something new.

    white pebbles – fufanu

  9. So my official attempt is this – track 4 off Ventriloquizzing:
    Fujiya & Miyagi – Knickerbocker

    But because it was earth day I really wanted to add the ‘music for ice caps’ mix of Crazy Earth
    Fortran 5 – Crazy Earth (Music For Ice Caps)
    Fortran 5’s first two singles, “Crazy Earth” and “Love Baby”, were combined for the commercial editions of the band’s US debut. Crazy earth ice caps mix was track 4… not sure what mix this youtube is – they did a lot (and I can’t do a check with the records as the whole household is in bed!).

    The first earth day was the year I was born and even though their predictions didn’t turn out as extreme as they thought and some things changed with different lifestyle scenarios – (that’s the joy of predictions AND change) – I’m far more prepared to accept scientists ideas rather than corporations ideas of what is good for this planet.

Leave a Reply

