The Wheel of Your Tune

The Wheel of Your Tune works like this; I metaphorically turn my spinning top to reveal a random letter and number.  The letter relates to an artist or the name of an album in my collection and the number relates to the track by that artist or on that album.  This week’s spin landed on Y4.

I don’t have much music by artists starting with Y – the 6th artist in my catalogue is Young MC and the 6th track on his album Stone Cold Rhymin’ is My Name is Young.

What’s your Y6 track?

30 thoughts on “The Wheel of Your Tune

  1. I quite enjoy the mental challenge of doing this when I’m away from my collection at DsSis’ orchestra practice on a Saturday morning. But 6 is a horrible number to get a handle on without cheating and looking stuff up.

    Artists-wise (which has been my angle of attack so far) there are no obvious Track6s spring to mind; can’t even think which songs come in sixth on Young Galaxy‘s eponymous debut, or Yo La Tengo‘s I’m Not Afraid Of You… [my most-played YLT] album. And good luck finding a Yes LP that even gets to six songs!! (Sorry Carole; a lazy untrue joke, but I couldn’t resist.)

    So let’s go off-piste:
    Track 6 on their Best Of CD, which is the only one I own –
    Yoshida Brothers – Saian
    which sounds like the siblings are auditioning to do a moody James Bond soundtrack; or

    Track 6 on the You Wash, I’ll Dry album (a contender for the least rock’n’roll title ever), there’s
    The Everyday People – This Kind Of Woman, which is slick 80s soul.

      • Funnily enough, I stopped listening to Yes after Going For The One and didn’t much like anything they did in the 80s at all. I think that ABWH made better Yes music than Yes did throughout the 80s on their 1989 eponymous album. There is some terrific stuff on the two Keys to Ascension albums they released in the 90s, though.

        • Another band that I listened to a lot and now seems to have disappeared from the radios and play lists. Along with Bread, Rush, Spyro Gyra, Ten Years After …

  2. I too have very few artists starting with Y. And since YLT and Yes are taken here’s a band that I was introduced to by RR, Yello. From the album with the same name as the track.

  3. The only qualifying album I own is the Colossal Youth collection from Young Marble Giants (the sixth track on which is N.I.T.A.). As I’ve previously given that an overwhelming ‘meh’, I’ll sit this week out.

  4. From the land of missed opportunities – this song (imo) was the one most likely to succeed from YesBodyElse’s 2016 album Elsewhere and yet, and yet…the production (also imo) totally lets it down. What were they thinking, with the wobbly trumpet and the quavering penny whistle?

    *sighs*

    Still, this is track six, which is what we want. And they’ll be in the studio again soon.

    You Don’t Know Anything About Heartbreak by YesBodyElse

  5. Late to the game. Everyone has moved on! I was tempted to go for something by Yazoo but Gabby Young won out in the end.
    From her “One Foot in Front of the Other” album, track six is:

    Saviour

  6. I have lots of repetition on Y – loads of Yeah yeah yeah, Yo La Tengo, Yello albums
    track six from Yona, Young Ejecta and the Young Gods doesn’t seam to be on youtube.

    so playlist goes a little like this:

    Yarah Bravo – Chillin’

    Yeah Yeah Yeahs – It’s Blitz! – Shame and Fortune (with lyrics)

    Young Fathers – Freefalling

    Yello – Kiss The Cloud

    Yacht – Holy Roller

    Yo La Tengo – “Tiny Birds” from 2003’s SUMMER SUN

    The Young Gods ‎– L’eau rouge [FULL ALBUM | – as 6 isn’t on it’s own and this album rocks

Leave a Reply

