Earworms 15 May 2017

Rather a thoughtful start to Earworms today, but we can rely on severin to jolly us up again, half way through. Hope you enjoy the music, and don’t forget, if you have an earworm you’d like to share, please send a link or an .mp3 to earworm@tincanland.com, with a few words about why you’ve chosen it. thanks to all contributors.

Black – Water On Snow – DsD: Damn, but I still miss Colin Vearncombe. From the posthumous re-release of his Any Colour You Like compilation, here’s a 7-minute indulgence of one of my favourite voices with a side-order of piquant guitar.

John Handy – Karuna Supreme – Ravi Raman: Title track of one of the best East meets West jazz – fusion albums that I have.  With Ali Akbar Khan on sarod and Zakir Hussain on tabla. There’s also a stunning,  21 minute, the whole of B side, number called Soul and Atma in this album that’s now over 40 years old!

Allan Holdsworth – How Deep is the Ocean – Abahachi: Pushing the meaning of ‘earworm’ to its limits, I’ll concede, but I’ve been on a bit of a Holdsworth binge since his death earlier this month. It’s one of the things Spotify is perfect for: I remember how difficult and expensive it was to get hold of any of his records in the 1980s (when Guitarist magazine spoke of him in tones of awe), and how disappointed I was when I finally heard one, but now I can skim over the more excessive jazz-rock-fusion stuff to find things like this relatively straight rendition of a Gershwin classic.

Camille Howard – O Sole Mio Boogie – severin: American R&B pianist and singer, born in Galveston, Texas in 1914 (it says here). She doesn’t sing on this one but she doesn’t really have to. Rocking version of a classical tune – see Nut Rocker etc…

Nia Wyn – Do You Love Enough – AliM: “Nia Wyn’s new single “Do You Love Enough” was released on 5 May… and the complete EP will be out in June. Nia is originally from a small town in North Wales, but is now based in North London. She was inspired by old blues and soul records she found in junk shops. These, along with a flair for playing the classic blues resonator guitar, became the motivation to craft similar songs of personal experience.”

The Big Drops – By the Water – AliM: “Currently making strides in the constantly evolving Brooklyn music scene, NJ-based rockers The Big Drops’ origin story couldn’t be any further from pavement and concrete. The band was formed in 2011 when brothers Greg (lead vox, rhythm guitar) and Vramshabouh Kherlopian (lead guitar, backing vox) went to live together in a small log cabin for three years. They bought their own recording equipment, and went through numerous lineup changes before finding Caleb Estey (drums) and Steve Donahue (bass) in 2015. Now, The Big Drops are readying up to release their debut full length, Time, Color, out June 23rd via self-release.” This is their first single.

Image Copyright: <a href=’https://www.123rf.com/profile_vladsilver’>vladsilver / 123RF Stock Photo</a>

4 thoughts on “Earworms 15 May 2017

  1. Great set! Starting with the rock ballad type Water on Snow and ending with boogie piano.
    Allan Holdsworth: have heard of him from a mathematician/ jazz guitarist friend but haven’t really listened to any of his solo work. Enjoying this though.
    Of the two Sound Cloud clips liked Nia Wyn but not very enthused by The Big Drops.
    Pick for me is Camille Howard.
    Thanks Spillers and Ali of course.

  2. Black – Water On Snow – DsD I’ve never really listened to Black before. Weirdly, this reminds me a little bit of King Crimson with John Wetton on vocals, but musically more straightforward. It is rather moving and affecting. Lovely guitar work.

    John Handy – Karuna Supreme – Ravi Raman More than 40 years old? That’s what you call a timeless classic, isn’t it? Anyway, terrific atmospheric music. I got quite lost listening to the delicate intricacy of it all.

    Allan Holdsworth – How Deep is the Ocean – Abahachi I first got to know Allan Holdsworth from his work with Gong and Soft Machine, and later UK with Bill Bruford. I don’t own any of his solo stuff, probably because I didn’t listen to too much fusion in the 80s. I liked what he did on Bill Bruford’s solo albums, though. Now that he is no longer with us, I might have to get his recently-released collection, Eidolon, containing this track which is terrific. Funnily enough, the bit I like best is the piano, which absolutely flies.

    Camille Howard – O Sole Mio Boogie – severin This was fun. I kept on singing “It’s Now Or Never” as it was playing.

    Nia Wyn – Do You Love Enough – AliM This is basically Minnie The Moocher, isn’t it? Also, I find the vocals annoying. Not to my taste. Sorry.

    The Big Drops – By the Water – AliM I like the tinkling, silvery sound on this. Chris will probably make rude faces at me, but this seems to me to be inspired by The Grateful Dead, but also by early Pink Floyd. Anyway, I love the echoey, psychedelic sound a lot. If they could have stretched this out into a 15 minute space jam, I’d have liked it even more.

    Well, a surfeit of terrific music here, but I am awarding the plaudits to The Big Drops, because it was great.

  3. Nothing I didn’t like this week. All new to me too.
    Both Sound Cloud tracks sounded pretty good to me. I liked Nia Wyn’s voice and I enjoyed the Big Drops more than Ravi did.
    I think my favourite overall though was the John Handy (et al) track.

  4. I liked everything too. Which sounds wet. Surprised I liked Black. Surprised I liked Alan Holdsworth. John Handy and Camille Howard are great. Nia Wyn not so much my thing but stood out as talented and “different” amongst the other submissions so far this month. As did Big Drops, which I really like.

Leave a Reply

