Wilson Wednesday – Jimmie Wilson

So the Eurovision Song Contest has been and gone for another year, and Portugal have taken out the prize for the first time in their history. Congratulations to them, especially for doing it with a song fully in Portugese rather than taking the more common path of pandering to the international audiences and singing in English.

Anyway, I can’t say I religiously watched the telecast of the event, but I did catch some bits and pieces along the way, and I might have to quietly admit to enjoying it. Not so much the quality of the music, which I will tactfully say is “variable at best”, but as a spectacle it’s a bit of harmless fun and often good for a laugh. I still don’t understand what my home country is doing there though (did I miss that geography lesson at school?)

Continue reading