Earworms 5 June 2017

Thanks very much to all those who have helped to top up the worm bank – eclectic doesn’t even begin to cover it. And a warm welcome back to Magicman, who starts us off as we mean to go on, with some “acid paranoia”. If you have any earworms you’d like to share, please send an .mp3 or a link to earworm@tincanland.com, together with a short paragraph about why you’ve chosen it. All contributions are welcome!

The Beatles – Blue Jay Way – Magicman: My lovely band The Brighton Beach Boys performed Magical Mystery Tour alongside Sgt Pepper this year at Brighton Festival, no Beach Boys tunes at all!!  And this song stuck into my ear – I had to sing it – a mighty challenge… the instrumentation was interesting too.  Drone on C, and off we go!  Proper acid paranoia…

Masala Coffee – Agnikunjondru (A spark of fire) – Ravi Raman: A poem about revolution by Bharathi, the most influential of Tamil poets in recent memory. He wrote this before he died just before Independence. “I took a spark of fire and placed in a burrow/The resulting blaze destroyed the forest/ When it comes to fire there is no difference between a spark and a torch.” The following verse is meant to depict the revolution – “roiling seas, thunder struck skies etc.” Masala Coffee is a group that normally does cover songs at live shows. This is one of five songs they have recorded.

Lindi Ortega – Final Bow – glassarfemptee: Canadian songstress Lindi Ortega had a great album with Tin Star, and I shared the apposite “Songs about…” on a previous earworms. Now she’s touring an EP, “Til the going gets gone”, but alas not this side of the pond. This is the closer, ‘Final bow’. The title track of the EP featured in a recent Sounds on Sunday.

Alexi Tuomarila Trio – What Is This Thing Called Love? – abahachi: After experiencing this Finnish pianist’s delicate and sensitive accompaniment of Tomasz Stanko in Poznan back in April, getting his new trio record had to be a priority. On the first couple of listens, it’s excellent – but I haven’t decided if any of the tracks are likely to persuade all those of you who don’t already like subtle jazz piano trios (the cover, of Dylan’s “The Times They Are A Changin’”, is the weakest track so I won’t go for that obvious move). So instead here’s an older recording, the haunting blues scales of an old Billie Holiday number.

Nat “King” Cole – You Call It Madness (But I Call It Love) – severin: Nothing to do with the Prince Buster/Madness song. A 1951 recording with his trio. Laid back, jazzy, piano- led crooner. Bliss.

Fiona Apple – Paper Bag – tincanman: Multi-talented and quirky, Apple wrote this typically multi-layered piece after mistaking a paper bag for a dove, and was rewarded with a 2001 Grammy nomination.

Image Copyright: paultessier / 123RF Stock Photo

6 thoughts on “Earworms 5 June 2017

  1. Very eclectic and very early! Thanks Ali.
    Liked Alexi Tuomarila Trio and Nat King Cole best. Beatles using a drone box! (we call it shruti peti) Whatever next.

  2. I just closed the whole window by mistake and lost the comment I was writing.
    Anyway, I enjoyed the Lindi Ortega song the most this week. Lovely voice.
    I do love Blue Jay Way too. Funny how it’s always much slower than it is in my memory. George “doing his own thing” by then and not in the shadow of Paul and John any more.
    Led nicely into the Masala Coffee track too which I liked. Rock and traditional Indian musical influences going back and forth in those last two.
    Always enjoy a listen to Fiona Apple. Very quirky but in a good way. Alexi Tuomarila Trio certainly more subtle and less “mainstream” jazz-wise than my offering but a great listen. Liked it a lot. Probably my second favourite pick of this week’s worms.

  3. I seem to be really behind schedule this week. Anyway, I’ve managed to catch up with the ‘worms at last.

    The Beatles – Blue Jay Way This is actually one of my favourite tracks from the Fab Four. I have always liked the way George managed to fuse the Indian-style drone with a truly whacked-out psychedelic feel.

    Masala Coffee – Agnikunjondru (A spark of fire) The rock guitar with the Indian vibe made me think of Quintessence, a band that I used to like a lot. The other thing that this reminds me of, in dynamic terms is symphonic prog metal. Interesting stuff.

    Lindi Ortega – Final Bow To my ears, there is something unsettling, menacing even about this. I think it is the slightly discordant piano and her vocal approach. It definitely has something doing on that really works. It isn’t Goth, but I think it is definitely Gothic. Excellent song.

    Alexi Tuomarila Trio – What Is This Thing Called Love? Speaking as someone who is partial to subtle jazz piano trios, I really enjoyed this a lot, a Big Lot, in fact. Wonderful playing and such an evocative melancholic feel to it. Undoubtedly this will be my favourite track this week. Now, all I need is a wilted gardenia corsage on the table next to my chaise longue, a little black dress and too many glasses of absinthe in the wee small hours and everything will be perfect.

    Nat “King” Cole – You Call It Madness (But I Call It Love) If it wasn’t for the previous track, this would easily have won my Track Of The Week award.

    Fiona Apple – Paper Bag I’ve not heard this song in a very long while. I am not a huge Fiona Apple fan but occasionally I hear songs by her that I really like. This is one of them.

    Anyway, I’ve already given the game away. The Alexi Tuomarila Trio were brilliant. Absolutely fabulous. My TOTW.

  4. A set of corkers this week. I liked them all – which is unusual to say the least!
    I loved the Linda Ortega, but I’m with Carole; fav was Alexi Tuomarila Trio it was perfect for drinking my morning coffee to.

Leave a Reply

