Earworms 12 June 2017

A suitably laid-back selection for you this week, wherever you are. If you have an earworm you’d like to share, please send an .mp3 or a link to earworm@tincanland.com, together with a short paragraph about why you’ve chosen it. I’ll do the rest. Many thanks to all contributors!

Ludovico Einaudi – Le Onde – glassarfemptee: I am a fan of Ludovico Einaudi, the classical music world’s answer to stadium rock. This subtle and lilting track, Le Onde (the wave) is perfect wind-down and chill out stuff. I heard it the other day on classic FM, and thought ‘I must get that’. Then realised I had it already, on the Islands album, an Einaudi greatest hits compliation from 2011.

Nick Drake – Riverman – severin: This song won’t be new to many ‘Spillers, I’m sure, but I have recently been listening to it for the first time in a very long while. The Unthanks recorded a cover of it some time ago and have been performing it as an encore on their recent “Songs of Molly Drake” tour. Brings the house down every time but, hey, Nick’s version is pretty good too.

Rose Cousins – Chosen – tincanman: About fitting in, or not, from the Canadian’s latest, the really well-produced (Joe Henry) Natural Conclusions.

Emmylou Harris – My Antonia – Ravi Raman: somehow missed nomming her tribute to her father that appears in the same album as this song, which has another of my favourite musicians, Dave Matthews.

Dua Lipa – The One: This song has been around for a while but didn’t enter the UK charts until early this year. Somewhere between London Grammar and Don Henley. Beautiful girl; interesting background, so catchy. Good voice. A true earworm.

Dee D Jackson – Automatic Lover – abahachi: Heard this on the radio for the first time for many years, and it’s a reminder of how many brilliant records came out of the supposedly plastic and disposable disco era; the robotics of Kraftwerk (the electronic voice is both hilarious and adds a weird syncopation to the rhythm) crossed with the theatricality and passion of Grace Slick. Very Giorgio Moroder – unless it *is* Giorgio Moroder…

Copyright: <a href=’https://www.123rf.com/profile_arborelza’>arborelza / 123RF Stock Photo</a>

6 thoughts on “Earworms 12 June 2017

  1. Earworms in the morning, my time, is “aces”. Usually I’d see the post and listen in the evening or night but this is so much better (for me).
    I rarely listen to western classical and so this is the first time I’m listening to Ludovico Einaudi and easily the stand out this week. With Nick Drake, Dua Lipa and Rose Cousins following in that order. Not very hot about Dee D Jackson but that’s more because our radios are filled with similar music, maybe not same quality.
    Thanks all, Ali.

  2. Happy to “post early” as I schedule it anyway. Rose Cousins the standout for me this week, though I like Ludovico Einaudi. Nick Drake too, but the song is so familiar that it’s almost part of me by now. Worms are boxed, btw.

  3. Ludovico Einaudi – Le Onde This is pleasant enough. It sounds a bit like film soundtrack music to me, which isn’t necessarily a bad thing, but it lacks the musical complexity and experimental nature of someone like Debussy. It’s OK, but to my ears, at least, a bit lacking.

    Nick Drake – Riverman One of the greats. ‘Nuff said.

    Rose Cousins – Chosen Gosh. Utterly fantastic, epic country music. Loved this.

    Emmylou Harris – My Antonia I love Emmylou Harris and I’ve been lucky enough to see her live. This is a nice song, but I’m not sure it is a great song. Having said that, I do like it a lot. I especially like the way the intensity builds and Emmylou’s voice always has that quality that makes you stop and listen to her.

    Dua Lipa – The One I have to say that I didn’t like this one at all. I almost skipped it, but I did listen all the way through. There is something I really don’t like about her voice. It sounds like a Eurovision song to me (not a recommendation).

    Dee D Jackson – Automatic Lover Another one that didn’t work for me, and another track that sounds like a Eurovision song to my ears.

    So, this week there is a clear winner and it is Rose Cousins. Terrific.

  4. Ludovico Einaudi, I enjoyed a lot. Quite blissful in fact. The only other piece of music I know by him is Limbo (which Beltway recommended for songs about – Limbo! – and I listed for the topic. I prefer that one but this had its own charm I think.
    Rose Cousins’ song was wonderfully dramatic and she has a great voice. Loved it. Pick of the week.
    Emmylou was lovely. I like her voice although I have never gone out (or stayed in) and bought any of her recordings. Maybe suffered slightly by comparison with the song before but fine on its own terms.
    Dua Lipa was OK. The sort of thing I would quite enjoy hearing on the radio now and then but wouldn’t get excited about. Mind you, people who know me would point out that I rarely get excited about anything.
    And finally – I thought that Automatic Lover was jolly good fun and played it twice. I think it is a Georgio Moroder production. She certainly worked with him at some point. Not as good as a Donna Summer record but I liked it. Can’t think why I don’t remember it from the time. My second favourite after Rose Cousins.

  5. I liked them all this week – obviously not as discriminating as some of you…Long time since I heard the Riverman – great song! Agree with others that Chosen is a terrific and powerful song – Rose has great pipes. Reminds me a bit of Eilen Jewell. Segues nicely into Emmylou, though this track is a bit more pedestrian. Then a change of pace and eras, with Dua Lipa. Some days the plink plonk would grate, but it works well for me today. Nice clear spacious production. I didn’t think I would like Automatic Lover from the description, but it worked well in this mix, though vocorders are usually a turn off for me (pace Neil Young and Transformer). I could really see myself dad dancing to this frenetic beat. Whew…

Leave a Reply

