Earworms 3 July 2017

It was a long old week last week, what with one thing and another, culminating in a weekend of drinking too much alcohol, catching the sun and general debauchery. So a fairly soothing start to the week for you today. If you have an earworm you’d like to share, please send an .mp3 or link to earworm@tincanland.com, together with a few lines about why you’ve chosen it, and I’ll try and feature it. Many thanks to all contributors.

Lee Ritenour – Daddy Longlicks – Ravi Raman: I’ve been waiting a long time to get some of his music and this collaborative effort was irresistible. From B B King to Slash, it has 20 artists on show and is full of gems. Here it is Joe Robinson (only know what Google tells me about him, Australian guitarist). The six strings also refer to Ritenour’s theory of the aspects of guitar music: jazz, rock, blues, acoustic, country and classical (again from Wiki).

Cigarettes After Sex – Nothing’s Gonna Hurt You Baby – glassarfemptee: Once sleeper hits were by word of mouth. These days it’s social media that spreads the word on unknowns. And who could resist a band called “Cigarettes after Sex”? Here are the US band with a slice of dreamy pop.

junk-E-cat – Spectrum – abahachi: Very Berlin: a weekend of ‘offene Baustelle’ at the new Humboldt Centre, allowing people in to see how they’re rebuilding the old Berliner Palais and turning it into some sort of enormous cultural space, also included an assortment of local acts, including a bloke in a mask and a black onesie on top of a decommissioned fire engine, mixing electronic beats with sampled reed instruments. This is the one track currently available; not earwormy in a traditional sense, but an interesting sound and style.

Keen – Darker Glasses – severin: I’m shameless, I know. Keep it in the family. For those who don’t know this is my sister’s old band. This is another track from the album of their (two) late-eighties EP releases and some demos. Social comment lyrics and in my opinion their best ever musical performance.

Colin Hay – Come Tumblin’ Down – tincanman: A jaunty little tale from the former Men At Work frontman.

Amesoeurs – Gas in Veins – AliM: Thanks again to Spotify weekly and wikipedia – Amesoeurs (Soulmates) is the only album by the band of the same name, released in 2009 (just before the band broke up). This is the first track, and I can’t get it out of my head.

Image Copyright: <a href=’https://www.123rf.com/profile_maryvalery’>maryvalery / 123RF Stock Photo</a>

9 thoughts on “Earworms 3 July 2017

  1. Amesouers and Colin Hay for me. About the latter, after the last Colin Hay Earworm I came across an acoustic version of Down Under by him. The song sounds very different from the pop version!

  2. I don’t know anything about Lee Ritenour or Joe Robinson but I do like the track here. Love that nimble guitar sound. I’m always surprised to enjoy anything by a band with a horrible name like Cigarettes After Sex, but I always have done so far. This one is, indeed, very dreamy.

    junk-E-cat was kind of compulsive and hypnotic. Colin Hay for far more trad and conventional –
    or maybe this style isn’t conventional now. Both enjoyable in very different ways.

    Amesoeurs were a different cup of fish altogether. Very dramatic and I liked it a lot. Ended so abruptly I thought the video had stuck. I was expecting a full eight minutes and had to listen again on Spotify to make sure I had heard all of it. Great stuff and probably my favourite this week.

  3. Cracking set this week. The Lee Ritenour/Joe Robinson was a lovely bit of Django picking. Keen was terrific pop, of which your sister can be proud, Sevvy. Colin Hay was a real feelgood track, nice bit of Americana, building to some frenetic banjo and vocal backing. (The refrain reminded me of the great Travelling Wilbury’s track, Tweeter and the Monkeyman). Then the thrashing finale with Amesours. Phew! But the track that grabbed me most was Junk-E-Cat, nice beaty intro, then seguing into something reminiscent of Anour Brahem. Love-er-lee!

  4. Lee Ritenour – Daddy Longlicks Nice picking there, very Hot Club in style.

    Cigarettes After Sex – Nothing’s Gonna Hurt You Baby I really dislike the band’s name, but I’ve rather enjoyed the stuff from them that I’ve heard, and this is no exception. It is a nicely-judged dreamy thing.

    junk-E-cat – Spectrum This reminds me of a stripped-back and slowed down version of Mr Scruff’s “Get A Move On” (the one with the Moondog sample) and I really like it a lot.

    Keen – Darker Glasses I didn’t know this was your sister’s old band at all. Thankfully, it wasn’t Keane! Very 80s sound, unsurprisingly, a bit Sundays, a bit Postcard records. Very nice track, though.

    Colin Hay – Come Tumblin’ Down Never much liked Men At Work. This was OK but didn’t enthuse me.

    Amesoeurs – Gas in Veins Terrific, really liked this one.

    Mostly good things this week. I am going to make junk-E-cat my POTW because it was the most interesting as a sonic experience, although Amesoeurs was also good in that respect.

    This was my last Earworms for a while, as I am off to France at the weekend.

Leave a Reply

