Earworms 17 July 2017

Another interesting batch of worms for you – I’m off to the Holywell Green Community Festival this weekend (I’m writing this in advance) – so I’m going to be well and truly music-ed out. Anyway, lots to enjoy. If you have an earworm you’d like to share, please send an .mp3 or link to earworm@tincanland.com, together with a short paragraph about why you’ve chosen it. I’ll do the rest – thanks to all contributors!

David Wilcox – The Sacrifice – tincanman: Gun violence in America; what fun.

The Trumpeteers – I’ll Fly Away – Ravi Raman: Came across this great harmony in a 45 song, two CD set called Folk, Gospel & Blues a few days before Peter threw open the SongBar for In Memoriam week.

Bessie Smith – Woman’s Trouble – severin: No not that sort. It’s Bessie Smith and she has been sent to jail and is not best pleased.

Loggins and Messina – Vahevala – AliM: A blast from the past – 1974 – and their album “On Stage”. Guitar, violin and flute, seagulls … all building to a magnificent crescendo. Bear with it, you may be pleasantly surprised.

Image Copyright: <a href=’https://www.123rf.com/profile_yarruta’>yarruta / 123RF Stock Photo</a>

4 thoughts on “Earworms 17 July 2017

  1. Oh wow! Vahevala by Loggins and Messina sorta overpowered the play list! That’s not a criticism. Enjoying the second run now. Fantastic.
    Bessie Smith- strangely despite liking her, I have only a couple of her songs and that too in compilations. Thanks for the timely reminder sev.

  2. David Wilcox sounds fine although I guess not really my usual kind of thing. Good though. Ditto Loggins and Messina. The only thing I ever remember about them for sure is that they’re not Hall and Oates. Oh, and I think the DJs on Capital radio played them a lot in the seventies. No idea if I have heard this one before but rather liked it. At least I did for a while. Can’t pretend I was enthralled for the full 21 minutes. Again, nothing wrong with it. Different strokes etc…

    My pick of the week though is The Trumpeteers. Fantastic singing. Loved it. Brief though it was, it wasn’t (for me) overshadowed or overpowered at all.

Leave a Reply

