The Wheel of Your Tune

The Wheel of Your Tune works like this; I metaphorically turn my spinning top to reveal a random letter and number.  The letter relates to an artist or the name of an album in my collection and the number relates to the track by that artist or on that album.  This week’s spin landed on B11.  I have plenty of B artists in my library, but whilst looking for my favourite 11th track I stumbled upon this one.  It’s probably not the best I could have chosen and it’s an instrumental but I chose it for nostalgic reasons (too much nostalgia going on in my head right now – must be my age!).

 

I lived in Stockport for many years.

I studied at Manchester Uni then lived a loafer post-student life for a few years, before settling down in this leafy neighbouring metropolitan borough, just as it was emerging as a trendy place for late 20 something professionals to gentrify.  I loved it there.  I bought my first house there, I had my first proper grown-up job at a factory in a district called Reddish, where I met so many brilliant local folk who completely accepted me into their company.  My first child was born at Stepping Hill hospital, my brother in law and many of our best friends still live there.  We visit when we can and it brings back so many happy memories and laugh out loud moments of young life stupidity.  It was from Stockport that I discovered a deep love for wild country as my then boyfriend and I spent weekends hiking on the Dark Peak.  So, for all those reasons, I chose Stockport by Badly Drawn Boy (and typically I cannot find a YouTube version that plays for me, hence the audio file)

What’s your B11?

 

19 thoughts on “The Wheel of Your Tune

  1. I have a ridiculously large number of albums artists whose name begins with the letter “B” in my collection. Obviously David Bowie’s albums form a large proportion of them, but I also have such people as Jeff Beck, both Jeff and Tim Buckley, Bjork, The Beatles, The Breeders and the Beach Boys. Of course, most of those albums don’t manage to get up as far as Track 11, but one that does is the 1970 album Barrett by Syd Barrett. It is an oddity, by any standards, but it has a certain odd charm. It is very short and it is called Effervescing Elephant

  2. Boy Hits Car – “Before We Die”. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hXp_ujBYh2M
    I had some sort of epiphany in a broken down coach by Stockport viaduct in 1995, on my way back from Manchester University to Bristol. Ultimately, it led to me getting married (well, it seemed like a good idea at the time). At least I didn’t have to go back to Stockport to get divorced!!

  3. Dang Sarah please stop the wheel before it crosses 10.
    I’ll go with Blue Oyster Cult’s On Your Feet Or On Your Knees. #11 is Maserati GT (I Ain’t Got You)

  4. Dunno why but I always go with the album, which this week led me to the legendary Blonde on Blonde (not Blond on Blonde, interestingly) by the legendary Bob Dylan. Track 11:
    Absolutely Sweet Marie
    https://www.dropbox.com/s/jzqlwszdfjhjrae/Bob%20Dylan%20-%20Absolutely%20Sweet%20Marie.mp3?dl=0
    I been in jail when all my mail showed
    That a man can’t give his address out to bad company
    And now I stand here lookin’ at your yellow railroad
    In the ruins of your balcony
    Wond’ring where you are tonight, sweet Marie

  5. I obviously like bands that write very short songs, so get plenty more than 11 on an album – or bands that begin with B that have double album best of’s.

    B – 11’s stand at 55 tracks that are in my itunes – I could be some time editing this down to a sensible playlist!

  6. oh that was fun fun fun:

    Brakes – No Return
    Baba Zula – We Fell In Love With You [Biz Size Aşık Olduk] (dub mix)
    Babybird – If You’ll Be Mine
    ballboy – Dumper Truck Racing (live Strange Fruit Festival)
    Bauhaus – Watch That Grandad Go
    Beck – Farewell Ride
    Bhundu Boys – Ziva Kwawakabva
    Blackalicious – Dream Seasons
    The Blanche Hudson Weekend -The Last Ride
    Bright Eyes – Bad Blood
    British Sea Power – A Wooden Horse
    Broadcast – O How I Miss You
    Brockdorff Klang Labor – some girls are bigger than others
    Buck 65 – Roses In The Rain (Feat. Adaline)
    The Bug – ‘Fuck You’ ft. Warrior Queen

  7. I could do HUNDREDS of B11s, but I’m only going to give you one.
    A song which is part of the reason I keep going on RR; I won’t rest ’til it’s zedded.

    The Bellrays – Stupid Fuckin’ People

Leave a Reply

