Earworms 7 August 2017

More eclectic sounds to brighten your Monday. If you have an earworm you’d like to share, please send an .mp3 or link to earworm@tincanland.com, with a few words about why you’ve chosen it, and I’ll do the rest. Many thanks to all contributors.

Four Tet – Two Thousand and Seventeen – CaroleBristol: I first heard this on BBC 6Music without knowing who it was by. I found it a mysterious and enchanting piece of music, with the (I think) cimbalom, a kind of hammered dulcimer, providing a wonderful atmospheric sense that just got under my skin, making me think of mysterious Balkan cities in the days of the Ottoman Empire. It was only later that I found out that it is a new track by Four Tet and that it is called Two Thousand and Seventeen. I think that it is really rather wonderful.

Beth Hart – St Teresa – Ravi Raman: Saw her live just this April and this song was part of her set. Great show but I somehow like this version.

K.Flay – Blood In The Cut – tincanman: This reminds me so much of Prince and all the genres he smashed together.

ZZ Top – Brown Sugar – DsD: Looking for something else, I came across ZZ Top’s 2016 Glastonbury set again. Oh dear! Is it just me, or was that tedious and lifeless in the extreme? [DsD sadly crosses them off his gig bucket list.] As an antidote, turn this up, clear a floor space, and let’s boogie like it’s 1971!

Monkey Warhol – Stolen Moments – AliM: Earwormy track from his just released EP (EP5).

Image Copyright: <a href=’https://www.123rf.com/profile_emirsimsek’>emirsimsek / 123RF Stock Photo</a>

8 thoughts on “Earworms 7 August 2017

  1. That’s my favourite version of St Theresa, too @Ravi. I saw it in the box before here and was congratulating myself on sending it it! So I’ll just nudge that praise on over your way 🙂

  2. Four Tet: I think it’s the santoor. Anyway same family and yes it’s wonderful.
    K.Flay: I can tell I’m going to have a few listens this week. Works well with Monkey Warhol too.
    ZZ Top: just picked up some individual tracks from their box set. Though in the rare event they play here I’d definitely be there 😎

  3. Loved the Four Tet track, quite liked Beth Hart and ZZ Top, in very different ways, of course. I liked the music on the K.Flay song a lot more than the voice or the lyric.

  4. Beth Hart – St Teresa Not familiar with Beth Hart, but this was lovely.

    K.Flay – Blood In The Cut Someone else I’ve not heard of before. I rather enjoyed it

    ZZ Top – Brown Sugar I’ve not heard this since the early 1970s, when I used to be friends with someone whose brother was a huge ZZ Top fan. I must say that I liked them better when they were doing this sort of thing than I did in their more famous 1980s incarnation. Having said that, I think that Johnny Winter did grungy blues rock better.

    Monkey Warhol – Stolen Moments Yeah, this was OK, but it didn’t excite me greatly.

    Overall, my favourite this week was Beth Hart

Leave a Reply

