The Wheel of Your Tune

The Wheel of Your Tune works like this; I metaphorically turn my spinning top to reveal a random letter and number.  The letter relates to an artist or the name of an album in my collection and the number relates to the track by that artist or on that album.  This week’s spin landed on R2.

I’ve chosen Roni Size/Reprazent as my artist because frankly I can’t pass up the opportunity to choose Brown Paper Bag which is track 2 on the album New Forms.  Brilliant 90s Drum & Bass.

 

What’s your R2?

 

10 thoughts on “The Wheel of Your Tune

  1. There are so very many artists and bands beginning with the letter R in my collection. I could pick Radiohead, R.E.M., The Ramones, Rolling Stones, Roxy Music and many more, but I am picking Track 2 from one of my absolute favourite albums, which is happily a double R because the album is called River and it is by Terry Reid. The track is here
    and it is called “Avenue“.

  2. The Roots- Distortion to static, from their first (EP) release From the ground up.

    Distortion to static. “Acoustic” hip-hop brilliance from Malik B/Black Thought, love the keys from Scott Storch. Got given this EP by a friend in 1996, next to DJ Shadow my “second” gateway into hiphop after the acid jazz era had burned out.

  3. Love the Roni Size too btw, I have fond memories of both Galliano and Courtney Pine featuring d&b in live sets in 97-98, both inspired by New Forms.

  4. Haven’t we done R before? I seem to recollect confessing that I only have one Radiohead album (that I don’t play) in my collection and no other R artists…

    Whatevs. I’ll pick track 2 on Rei Momo, David Byrne‘s Latin album: Make Believe Mambo. Shake those hips!

  5. I would like to pick Shimajima by Ryukyu Underground. Track two from their first album, which was just called Ryukyu Underground. Sadly the Youtube video for that individual track seems no longer to be available. The whole album is here though.

    Track two starts about 5 mins and 13 seconds in. All worth listening to if you have the time. It was one of those accidental discoveries for me. I bought the CD cheaply when HMV were closing down their huge Oxford Street store, thinking it was an album of traditional music from Sakura’s part of the world.
    Turned out to be two British blokes using samples of the above. Very effectively too.

    LINK

Leave a Reply

