The Wheel of Your Tune

 

Better late than never…

The Wheel of Your Tune works like this; I metaphorically turn my spinning top to reveal a random letter and number.  The letter relates to an artist or the name of an album in my collection and the number relates to the track by that artist or on that album.  This week’s spin landed on M1.

I’ve chosen the track 1er Gaou by the Cote d’Ivoire band Magic System.  About 15 years ago I travelled in Ghana whilst visiting family based there.  As we drove along the beautiful coastline away from Accra towards The Ivory Coast this song was playing almost constantly on the car stereo.  Every time I hear it I’m taken back there.  My brother in law bought me the album as a Christmas gift after our trip.

What’s your M1?

15 thoughts on “The Wheel of Your Tune

  1. I am getting a double “M” here because I am nomming the album The Messenger by Johnny Marr. As it was also his first solo album, I am claiming a double “1” too. The first track is called “The Right Thing Right” and it is here.

  2. Plenty of Ms to choose from: Malkmus, Marsalis, MacColl, Mazzy, Mothers… even Morrisette…. but I’ll go with track 1 from the eponymously-titled Matching Mole, the timelessly-beautiful O Caroline.

  3. Charles Mingus- Better git it in your soul.
    Track 1 from the 1959 classic Mingus Ah Um, reminded of this reading about the recent Mingus tribute prom concert. First encountered this on a “Jazz Poll Winners” 1959 compilation LP my parents had borrowed from some hip friends and which got me hooked into jazz at a very early age.

  4. Oh lord, almost any track from almost any John Martyn LP would do it for me. Ditto Joni Michell and Magazine. But I think as openers go, this one takes a bit of beating.
    Takes me back to the first time I ever saw them – at the Acklam Hall in Ladbroke Grove. Either they were supporting Misty (before they were “In Roots”) or the other way around. It was a hell of a night anyway.
    Oh – Misty would be a good choice too. Oh, stuff it. Don’t watch that. watch this…..

    Madness – One Step Beyond

  5. How about “All The Way From Memphis” from the album Mott ? Mott the Hoople were the first live band I ever saw so they have a special place in my heart and given that they inspired Mick Jones to start a band they can’t be all bad can they ?

  6. I was listening to Mastodon when I first saw WOYT M1, so a quick mention for Tread Lightly but M1 is (Don’t Worry) If There’s A Hell Below We’re All Going To Go by Curtis Mayfield.

  7. I was a teeny bit underwhelmed by Megson’s performance at the Towersey Village Festival last weekend – it seemed, I don’t know, a bit slick and I’d heard all the jokes before. However, they did do this one which I like, and it’s the first track on their album of the same name. Earwormy!

    Smoke Of Home

Leave a Reply

