Sounds on Sunday 44

Good morning, hope you’re ready for some more new sounds. Do feel free to comment, below, and many thanks to all contributors.

Max the Lesser – Me In Honey: Max the Lesser is a former musical theatre kid from Hamilton, Ontario, Canada who does “weirdo music blending psychedelic dream pop, progressive folk, blue-eyed soul, and D.I.Y. tendencies.” This is his new single, a cover of R.E.M.’s 1991 song Me In Honey. This song is the third single from the upcoming compilation album Time Side / Memory Side: A Tribute to R.E.M.’s Out of Time to be released on Maisonneuve Music.

Wayfarer – Broken Wire (feat. LANKS): “Melbourne based producer Wayfarer teams up with fellow Australian LANKS on Broken Wire, the third in a string of wonderful collaborative singles leading up to upcoming Garden State EP. The track themes focus on growing up and not wasting your opportunities, with Lanks’ intuitive songwriting and beautifully cadenced vocal soaring above cinematic production.”

Brother Cephus – Toxic Slip:Toxic Slip is a new track from Tampa-based brotherly duo Brother Cephus with vibes reminiscent of Grizzly Bear and Modest Mouse. The track is off their newly released six-track collection Not That Important, released in late July. Opening up to new elements in their sound, Gabe and Seth felt a natural tug away from their folk and indie-rock beginnings. According to Gabe, their new sound has a “hint of Americana and old rock ‘n’ roll, but also some post-punk elements.””

Hoots and Hellmouth – The Down Part of Town: “Philadelphia roots rockers Hoots & Hellmouth have released their newest EP, Uneasy Pieces, on The Giving Groove. Frontman Sean Hoots’ voice cuts with clarity and cracks with vulnerability, soaring over rough-edged arrangements that swell from delicate acoustic guitar articulations to rich, densely textured choruses, driving rhythms always propelling forward. It’s atmospheric, it’s deeply personal, and it invites you to linger.”

Alex Siegel – Easy: “Alex Siegel is a musician, songwriter and producer based in Santa Monica, California. His debut album Röykkä is the fruit of recording sessions after Alex met producer Matti Kari in a hostel in Moscow. They went on to record the album in the countryside of Finland in autumn, projecting vibes that are equal-parts laid-back, sunny California and colorful, cool Scandinavia. Alex is a longtime collaborator with Waterstrider. He is also a touring drummer with Nine Pound Shadow and keyboardist/guitarist with Omar Velasco and the Mother Tongues.”

Andrew Johnston – Brand New Narrative: Andrew says: “…a sneak peak of my latest single “Brand New Narrative” from my soon to be released album “The New Great Game”. The album was produced by Murray Lightburn from the Dears. It’s all about my wayward youth smoking hash on the rooftop of the Rideau centre in Ottawa, dancing to Michael Jackson vinyl in my parents’ basement and listening to Nirvana cassettes on my Walkman. That was back when I was part of a youth shadow culture that devoted itself to making trippy instrumental music. The track itself is pretty funky and kind of makes me think of a grungy disco rock dance party.”

Shao Jean Sim – Kites Sky High: “… Kites Sky High is a melodic, colourful combination of world music, jazz, and folk from the duo of Shao Jean & Leyeux … The track is a cut off their recently released Awaken EP. The duo of Shao Jean and Jack Snyder (Leyeux) met in the spring of 2015 at Berklee, have both grown up with music. Shao studied classical piano from age 5 through high school, and started playing guitar in her teenage years. She began writing songs at the Berklee College of Music. Jack started studying drum set at age 7, continuing through high school where he began singing and playing guitar to write songs.”

Grapell – We Can Only Blame Ourselves: “Smooth new single from Sweden’s Grapell, and the second track released off their upcoming debut LP Crier (out 11/3 on Roll Call). Premiered … via My Old Kentucky Blog.

The Dig – Communion: “The Dig have shared a new track titled Communion, as part of the Philia: Artists Against Islamophobia compilation. Proceeds from the release will go to the Unity Productions Foundation, a nonprofit organization that specializes in combating Islamophobia. Emile from the band wrote a great quick piece on the cause, which you can read on the band’s Facebook here.

Lost Stars – It Only Takes One: “In the past year, Lost Stars has become one of the most exciting alt. Indie bands on the Nashville scene. Since they formed in the spring of 2016, high school friends Damian Malnar (vocals and keys) and Charley Holden (guitar), along with members Trey Warner (guitar), Thomas Altman (Bass), and Tyler Pederson, debuted their EP, Dreaming in the Dark, and embarked on a successful tour of twelve cities.” This is their new single, and very professional it is, too.

Sally Caitlin – Déjà Vu: Sally Caitlin is a 23 year old singer-songwriter from Manchester. She began song-writing at the piano at the age of 15 and released her first single, “Stuck in Limbo”, in November 2015. This is her new single from her EP Experiments, which is available on Spotify.

Rebecca Schiffman – Laura: “Rebecca Schiffman is a singer-songwriter and artist based in Highland Park, Los Angeles. Her eponymous third LP, produced by Money Mark and featuring Nels Cline, came out this year on Fayettenam Records (2016 digital, 2017 vinyl). A born-and-bred New Yorker, Schiffman has been … profiled for her music, art, jewellery, and writing by The New York Times, New York Magazine, and Nylon, among other publications. “Laura” is inspired by the pilot episode of Seinfeld.”

Amai Kuda and Y Josephine – Cave: “Amai Kuda and Y Josephine are singer/songwriters, percussionists, community activists and educators who believe in the power of music to heal and change the world. Their latest release, AfroSoul Volume II: MaZai, has been called “earthy and rootsy and good for your ears” by CBC’s Errol Nazareth. In 2015 they were selected as one of the ‘101 Standout Artists’ during the nationwide CBC Searchlight competition, have opened for the likes of Joel Placket, and more recently collaborated with M1 of the legendary HipHop duo Dead Prez on a call-to-action song called “We Can Do It.””

One thought on “Sounds on Sunday 44

  1. Pingback: Sunday Rundown: Shooting for Alive, Live Acoustic Sessions and Florida – sally caitlin

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.