Earworms 28 August 2017

Good morning, happy Bank Holiday to those who have one. For some reason the site from which I normally download images isn’t letting me sign in, so here is an old photo of my mum and a cat who was undoubtedly just about to tip-toe through the tulips with her at any moment. If you have an earworm you’d like to share, please send an .mp3 or link to earworm@tincanland.com, together with a few words about why you’ve chosen it, and I will do the rest. Many thanks to all contributors.

Annette Hanshaw – Tiptoe Through the Tulips – Severin: What? Who? I mentioned the Tiny Tim version of this over on the Song Bar when we did songs with high voices. It reminded me of this, much older version by one of the unsung heroines of the Jazz era. I say “unsung” because, although she was voted (in a magazine poll) best female singer back in the 1930s, you rarely hear her name now. Crosby was voted best male singer btw. Actually, by most accounts she was very shy, hated her own singing voice and would rather not have recorded at all. “I just did it for the money” she said. I’m glad she did because I like her voice a lot.  You can hear her trademark “that’s all” at the end of this and many of her other recordings.

Magokoro Brothers – My Back Pages – Ravi Raman: It took me a few seconds to realise that this was the Dylan song. From the Masked and Anonymous soundtrack, which I found compelling enough to pick up a few more individual songs.

Ryan Adams – Haunted House – tincanman: Is Adams’ latest, Prisoner, the breakup album Springsteen wishes he’d made? No, lol. But that doesn’t mean it’s no good. Because it is. Good, I mean. He just sounds a lot like Springsteen on it.

Grok Enrol & the Nu-Thing – The Beam of Greatest Intensity – AliM: From their forthcoming album All\Mix/Dup, which I featured a few days ago on The ‘Spill, due for release on Bandcamp next Friday. This is my favourite earwormy track.

Image: author’s own

4 thoughts on “Earworms 28 August 2017

  1. Just pulled out of a ghat section and into one of the wi-fi spots that the Indian Railways operates. But with everyone updating their status I don’t have enough bandwidth to listen 😑. Will do so only close to midnight my time. All new to me including Grok Enrol whose name I recall though not their music. Thanks Ali.

  2. When I was in my teens an older friend used to lend me early Bob Dylan albums and, for the most part, I loved them. I bought several but Another Side Of.. wasn’t one of them. I think My back Pages was part of the reason. I didn’t like it at all. Not the sentiments so much as the delivery. It seemed to confirm all the things the Dylan-haters said about his tunes and his voice and his tendency to labour a point.
    Anyway, eventually I heard The Byrds’ version which seemed a far, far better thing and I can now hear the original without wincing too much. This track here, with its strange intro, sounds great to me. And, since it isn’t in English, I don’t keep thinking “don’t rhyme it with “somehow” this time”, think of something else.

    I wish Ryan Adams would change his name. Every single time, even now, I think it’s that bloke who “does everything for you” and was at number one in the UK charts for several years. That said, I can’t pretend I’m a massive fan of young Ryan but he’s OK with me. This song was short and sweet and I liked it despite the Springsteen similarities.

    I really think I’m going to buy that Grok Enrol album. I’ve liked all the tracks I’ve heard so far. Loved this one. Sounds like they could go anywhere. Great stuff.

    • Nova Collective, Year of No Light and now Grok! You’re on a roll Ali! Brilliant share.
      I actually liked Ryan Adams and his resemblance to Springsteen didn’t bother me.
      Annette Hanshaw – wow. Another great find via Spill. Thanks sev.

Leave a Reply

