The Wheel of Your Tune

A bit like Carole, I am up to my eyeballs at the moment. Hence no recent “discuss” topics on Fridays and this week I haven’t even had time to do WOYT.

So, I thought I’d just ask you which new releases you’ve been listening to this week? For me it’s been Villains by Queens of the Stone Age and A Deeper Understanding by The War on Drugs.

The QotSA album has really got under skin and had me in tears a couple of times. I’m in love with it.  Here’s them performing a track from the album in the live room at BBC 6 Music.

What new stuff are you listening to?

12 thoughts on “The Wheel of Your Tune

  1. Hi Sarah, I’ve only listened to QotSA once and was fairly unimpressed with the ‘lighter’ touch that Mark Ronson had provided as producer.

    On the other hand I love the War on Drugs album.

    Have also been listening to the two Robert Plant new releases from his forthcoming album: Carry Fire the two released tracks are Bones of Saints and The May Queen

    Still listening to the new albums from London Grammar and Hunter and the Bear almost on a continuous loop.

  2. The new Susanne Sunfor album is delayed for some reason – expecting delivery in a week or so. I have heard some tracks on Youtube – taking the rest on trust. This one features John Grant – that’s not her voice you hear first! LINK

    Oh, here’s another one. which has already been out as a single.

    Also catching up with various EP’s released (mostly last year) by Dream Wife – see earworms for why.

  3. Vijay Iyer sextet- far from over. His latest ECM release, quite a heavyweight one but after a couple of listens really starting to sink in, not as avant-garde as some of his recent work and plenty of beat-based tracks among the more abstract ones to make for a very enjoyable album.

    And a new “discovery”- Thelonious Monk’s “lost” soundtrack recording for Roger Vadim’s 1959 film of Les Liaisons Dangereuses. Monk at his peak and guest tenor saxophonist Barney Wilen performs very well next to regular Charlie Rouse.

  4. When I’ve had the time, I’ve been listening to Steven Wilson’s new album, “To The Bone”. This seems to have divided fans of his music into opposing camps, with quite a few people dismissing it as being Not Prog Enough. Frankly, I couldn’t care less if it is or isn’t prog, because I really like it a lot. To my ears it just sounds like Steven Wilson doing what he does best, which is making interesting music. The title track is here

  5. have a few things ready for ten day hol coming up- the new oh sees, Terry, Guerilla Toss, Palehound, Breakfast Muff and Flotation Toy Warning albums will all get a listen. I have the Downtown Boys recommended by Panther on order though not sure when it’s due to reach me, but like the sound of them. I’ve listened to Priests a lot this year too and booked to see them and Shellac this side of Christmas.

    I liked the Dream Wife track on earworms. great fun.

  6. I’ve been listening to Peter Perrett’s recent debut solo album (at the tender age of 65) “How the West was Won” and it is a stone cold masterpiece, definitely album of the year and far more than that probably. Every listen brings new treasures, the songs are crafted brilliantly and he surpasses the magic of the first 2 Only Ones albums ! If you ever had a liking for the Only Ones, or even if you didn’t, then I urge you to listen to this record. Mighty.

  7. Mainly been listening to Paranoid Visions’ new EP Rebellion – no tracks on yt, but there is a reasonable live recording of the lead track here – No Pasaran(Getting The Picture)

    And also Hostile Minds – Life On File EP

    New Test Tubes , Cravats and Templars albums imminent as well!

  8. New QOTSA album is exciting to me, escapism is the way to go. Looking forward to the new Beck album too, listening to the singles from that too.

Leave a Reply

