RR Films: Water

We did consider films about The Sea back in our early days but there’s so much rain around at the moment that I thought wateriness in general deserved a week.

There are some great dramas set on raging rivers (Werner and Klaus territory) and some gentle portraits set on lakes (well, one I can think of). Torrential rain can have devastating effects, as we are seeing, and yet drizzle and mist can prove beautifully atmospheric. Real life needs a bit of moderation; films prefer the extremes.

My choice is Pixar’s Finding Nemo, a film set almost entirely underwater, and one I was pleased to have the excuse to see in the cinema by taking a child with me. The animation is stunning and the jokes are pretty good.

What wet films would you recommend?

27 thoughts on “RR Films: Water

  1. Most definitely NOT Waterworld!
    What a dog’s breakfast that was.

    I think the various forms of precipitation in The Deer Hunter help make it special.
    Rutger Hauer’s death speech in Blade Runner wouldn’t be the same in the dry either.

    • Also that scene in Deer Hunter where they’re in that bamboo cage in the water.

      Supposedly there’s a sequel to Blade Runner coming out. I’m not sure if i want to see it though.

  2. Hmmm. Unbreakable, anyone? Bruce in his rain cape is the source-cartoon homage image; and [drowning in] water his Kryptonite equivalent.

  3. First thought was Posiedon Adventure, which i am not recommending. Also a bunch of films i’ve put up recently – Deliverance – the river was so important. Apocalypse Now – also on the river. Road Warrior, the scene where it starts pouring rain, thwarting Humongus’ plans. Network – it rains a lot.

    I’ll go for Kurosawa’s Stray Dogs though, for the ending scene in the rain.

    • I haven’t seen IT and probably won’t. But i have seen cuts and trailers, there seems to be a lot of water in that one, in sewers.

  4. Would “All Is Lost” (2013) count? I wonder. It is set entirely at sea.

    Also has only one actor (Robert Redford), very little dialogue (or monologue I suppose) and an ending with two interpretations. I shall say no more except that thought it was effing brilliant.

  5. My favourite ever film, “L’Atalante”, is set on a French barge so would probably count but I think I’ve nommed it before so I will go with the final scene of “Seven Samurai” which takes place in what looks like a monsoon, or “Lifeboat”, one of Hitchcock’s less successful films.

  6. ‘Rough Sea At Dover’ is rather unrefined, at least in its present condition. It is now rather blurry and unclear, and it’s hard to tell just how realistic it may have looked originally. As it now stands, ‘Rough Sea At Dover’ consists of two different views that may have been edited together after the fact – it’s probably impossible to tell with certainty.

    ‘Rough Sea At Dover’ – if only we could turn back time to 1886!

    On a side note – this was so effective at the time (so I’ve read) that viewers could be seen ducking out of the way of the sea water when it was shown (while probably swearing about the French and foaming at the mouths about taking back control).

  7. My nom is the 1974 film of the Arthur Ransome novel Swallows and Amazons. I know that there is a more recent film, but I haven’t seen it.

    The water, in the shape of a lake based upon Lake Windermere in the Lake District is central to the plot.

    I was absolutely addicted to the Swallows and Amazons books when I was between 8 and 10. I really wanted to be Nancy Blackett and have a sailing dinghy, a pretty unlikely ambition for someone growing up in East London in the 1960s.

  8. Water.

    That was its title. It was an oddball comedy by George Harrison’s Handmade Films.

    Silly plot (about water). Stellar cast. Had its good moments. VERY 80s. Box office flop.

    High points: Maureen Lipman did the best impression of Margaret Thatcher – ever – and the anthem, “Freedom” (written by Eric Clapton and performed by Billy Connolly, Chris Tummings, Eric Clapton, George Harrison, Ringo Starr, Jon Lord, Chris Stainton and Ray Cooper,

  9. I’m really late to this, Chris, but wanted to say that I absolutely love love love Finding Nemo. It has everything you could ask for in a film and frankly my kids and I still roll around laughing when one of us shouts “Nemo touched the butt!”

Leave a Reply

