The Wheel of Your Tune

The Wheel of Your Tune works like this; I metaphorically turn my spinning top to reveal a random letter and number. The letter relates to an artist or the name of an album in my collection and the number relates to the track by that artist or on that album. This week’s spin landed on N8.

I seem to own a phenomenal number of tracks and albums by artists beginning with N. I’ve got a lot to choose from so have chosen a favourite track 8. This by Nitin Sawhney from his 2001 album Prophesy narrowly pipped Nick Cave and the Bad Seeds (Are You) the One That I’ve Been Waiting For. Here we are then:

Breathing Light

What’s your N8?

17 thoughts on “The Wheel of Your Tune

  1. Bit of a cheat, perhaps, as it’s a live album, but track 8 on Live Rust by Neil Young and Crazy Horse is

    The Needle And The Damage Done

    Ooh! And this is the one with the storm at the beginning and the chant of “No rain!” Perhaps I’ll move over to the Song Bar…well, no, it’ll be zedded, won’t it?

  2. Marius Neset with Trondheim Jazz Orchestra- Birds.
    From the album Lion, 2014, and my festive Spill Nr. 1 that year.

    Here’s a very fine live version.

    <a href="birds

    “>Birds

    • I was just counting through the tracks of that album in the hope that the eigth would be Evening of Light…and then I see you beat me to it, sev! If they’re appropriate in this game, have a dond the size of the moon. A brilliant track.

      • I always dig out the vinyl albums to have a squint at the track listing because I don’t trust the only discogs which sometimes list extra tracks from CD re-releases or deluxe editions.

        I’m sure we’re allowed to share a song in this game.

  3. Nico is my only ‘proper’ N artist and Naked is my only N album (the eigth track of which is meh), so I’ll go with the eighth track on the Day Of The Dead collection curated by The National, which is their version of Morning Dew.

  4. Rather than go with someone obvious like Nirvana or the Newtown Neurotics (!) I’ll go with track 8 from the Nips’ live bootleg “Only The End of the Beginning” namely “Happy Song”, a brilliant poppy ditty that has all of MacGowan’s lyrical brilliance and a really catchy tune. This version is actually the studio version from a Paul Weller produced session in 1980 which was never released on vinyl, more’s the pity !

  5. I really didn’t need to think about this for very long at all, because under N in my music collection, I have lots of music by the sublime Laura Nyro. On her 1968 album, Eli and the Thirteenth Confession (every home should own a copy, because it is magnificent), the eighth track is the brilliant Stoned Soul Picnic and it is here.

  6. Sean Rowe – It’s Not Hard To Say Goodbye Sometimes

    Like almost all the songs on his latest, New Lore, Track 8 starts with a couple of captivating lines. Known best for his imposing, gravelling voice and second best for interpretations of others’ songs that leave you speechless, New Lore should bring more attention to his songwriting. He still needs another artist as a starting off point – Cohen, in the case of New Lore , but maybe that’s not a bad thing.

Leave a Reply

