The Wheel of Your Tune

Late again…today I put it down to spending the best part of 6 hours yesterday evening at the local gin festival….ooh my poor head.

This little series has been going for a while now and after this week there are only 2 more letters of the alphabet to go.  My question to you ‘Spillers is this: do you want me to carry on with TWOYT in a slightly different format (e.g. I choose A23 and you choose the 23rd track you own by any artist beginning with A or the 23rd track in your collection that starts with A)?  Or shall I think of something new for Saturday mornings?  Or does someone else have something they’d like to do on a Saturday morning (to be fair, you are probably all sick of me at the start of your weekend).

Let me know what you reckon.

To this week…

The Wheel of Your Tune works like this; I metaphorically turn my spinning top to reveal a random letter and number. The letter relates to an artist or the name of an album in my collection and the number relates to the track by that artist or on that album. This week’s spin landed on X1.

How can I not choose X-Ray Spex – Oh Bondage! Up Yours! the first track from their album Germfree Adolescents.

What’s your X1?

16 thoughts on “The Wheel of Your Tune

  1. I only have two artists listed under X on my spreadsheet; X-Press2 and The xx.

    The first track on “I See You”, the third album by The xx is “Dangerous”. I can’t find the album version on YouTube, but there is a live version here which is pretty spiffing.

    • As for future Tune Wheelies, I don’t know. I suspect the Spill diehards (you, Carole, sev, Ali, Ravi, shoey, shane, tfd and a few others) will try to support whatever you come up with. Do what you have the energy and brainspace for, Sarah, and thank you for doing it.

  2. Yes from me as well. Please keep this going.

    I don’t have any artist in X and only one track from Xanadu, the ELO album. But that’s #10. The first is Magic and sung by Olivia Newton John, who also wrote half the songs.

  3. I would like the series to continue. I’m sure there are lots of variations that would work and it’s fun.
    This week I could only have honestly suggested the X-ray Spex song we started off with.

    There was a Coldplay album called X+Y but I have never heard it. Still just for the sake of form, and to see what happens, I’m posting the first track before even listening.

    Square One

  4. X-Press 2 Ft. Doll – This Is War

    my other thought was:

    XMAL DEUTSCHLAND – Matador

    can’t find youtubes of Xevious Cuboid or X-ert feat Hazel O’Connor first tracks – so skip those!

    I’ve missed doing: F – I – P – Q – T – Z in this thread so will have to go back and search for those.
    I agree with the: “Do what you have the energy and brainspace for, Sarah, and thank you for doing it.”
    Got to say it does often make an interesting playlist doing it from a letter and track order.

    • Blimey! XMAL DEUTSCHLAND.
      There’s a name I haven’t heard in years.

      I mostly agree with Chris, but I do think that some threads have a natural lifespan. My tuppen’th would be to say don’t force anything. If necessary just keep going: we all had more than one suggestion for each letter/number combination, and I’m sure we all looked at some albums and thought “Ooh I wish that had been 6 instead of 5; 6 is my favourite.”

  5. another xmal

    or there’s crank heart – xiu xiu

    i don’t have any other ideas but this is a series that can keep running, at least whilst everyone’s still enjoying it. great for re-visiting things.

  6. My selection is a cheat. I’m working mostly at a site 100 miles from home at the moment, so no access to my full collection. With X-1, I can’t get Irish rockers Bell X1 out of my head. From their 2009 LP Blue Lights On The Runway, two songs are in The Marconium, one I nominated (The Curtains Are Twitchin’) and one I picked as guru (Light Catches Your Face). Track 1 on that LP is The Ribs Of A Broken Umbrella.
    To be honest, it’s not my favourite – it’s a bit of a basic chug-rocker, with Jagger-aping vocals.
    As I’ve broken the rules already, let’s give myself a totally free hand.
    From 2006’s Flock, here’s Lamposts.

Leave a Reply

