Earworms 23 October 2017

Good morning, good morning … more wonderful worms for your delectation. If you have a an Earworm you’d like to share, please send an .mp3 or a link to earworm@tincanland.com, together with a few lines about why you’ve chosen it. I’m still on the look-out for Halloween worms too, these need to be sent in by Sunday October 29. Many thanks to all contributors.

James Keelaghan – Cold Missouri Waters – Ravi Raman: I cleared up some old RR folders and found this gem. Acoustic guitar, fine voice and a grim tale that unfortunately is true. Captivating is an understatement.

Alt-J – House of the Rising Sun – tincanman: What’s the best version of House Of The Rising Sun (https://goo.gl/C3dwgd) and who wrote it has been known to start bar brawls and has separated more brothers than the civil war, so I’m staying clear away. I’ll just toss in this odd and quirky version from Alt-J’s equally odd and quirky latest, Relaxer. Purists will note they’ve changed the story some.

Asha Bhosle – Yun Na Thi – Magicman: The first piece of Indian music (excluding Within You Without You!) that I swooned to, and still do. It featured on the 4th WOMAD Talking Book, released in 1987: An Introduction to Asia with tracks from Kurdish Siwan Perwer, Voices of Rajahstan, Temple Musicians of Sri Lanka and Ofra Haza among others. This track stood head and shoulders and took me on a lifelong exploration of Indian music, about which I still know next-to-nothing despite owning hundreds of tracks from Asha and others. The journey has given me great pleasure. Asha Bhosle sang in New York 2 years ago and I missed her. A legend. Still an Earworm 30 years later!

Anton Guillen (hammered dulcimer) and Airam Beltram (guitar) – Soundhammer: glassarfemptee: When I am holiday, I often buy buskers’ CDs if they sound ok. In Santiago de Compostela recently I heard Anton Guillen playing a hammered dulcimer, an instrument a bit like a zither played with wooden hammers, with a lovely sound reminiscent of a harpsichord. Mostly the music was traditional, but this piece is very similar to Perpetuum Mobile by Penguin Cafe Orchestra.

Hanne Hukkelberg – No Mascara Tears – severin: I’ve been re-listening to a lot of Hanne Hukkelberg songs recently after buying a ticket for her forthcoming London gig; the first in five years. This, from her 2009 album Blood From a Stone sounds wonderful still but baffles me lyrically. Is she singing about a performer on a stage, an imagined lover or maybe herself? Love the voice and music anyways.

The Velvet Underground – European Son – AliM: Our local chimney sweep, whose van bears the enticing slogan Up Yours, keeps a horse in the field by the allotments. Person or persons unknown chucked a folder full of CDs into the field, including The Velvet Underground and Nico, which he gave to me. No further explanation required, except that I’d forgotten that this is rather good.

Image Copyright: <a href=’https://www.123rf.com/profile_pacoayala’>pacoayala / 123RF Stock Photo</a>

10 thoughts on “Earworms 23 October 2017

  1. Magicman: you may be aware of this – Asha Bhosle just celebrated her 84th birthday last month. So there’s been a lot of her music and her late husband R D Burman’s. There is now a wax figure of her at Tussaud’s in Delhi (to open on December 1). She has asked for it to be placed between Elvis and Michael Jackson. 🙂
    Know only the Velvet Underground song and of Alt J- I have some of their music courtesy Fuel. But somehow not “feeling” this.
    The Anton Guillen/Beltram piece is both new to me and excellent but I’m a big fan of santoor which is similar to the dulcimer. Hanne Hukkelberg too new and very good.
    *This may be a double post as the earlier one seems to have disappeared from Spill. Apologies if so.

  2. Well I thoroughly enjoyed that lot. I’m not in a mood for concentrating properly on lyrics so I will have to listen a few more times before getting the full benefit of the first two. Both sounding good.
    Asha Bosle has a beautiful voice, the Anton Guillen track was fantastic and, of course, I know and love the Velvets track.

  3. One of the first major musical influences on me, right after trad jazz, was the folk music trend that eclipsed everything else in late 1950’s England. Consequently I heard many versions of ‘Rising Sun’, the Animals version was popular, so were the Weavers, Pete Seeger and Woody Guthrie; there were lots more. Not really taken with this version.
    That Cold Missouri was new and very nice, particularly given our recent fires.
    I offered an Asha Bhosle cut here some years ago, it might have been to Earworms, nice to hear her again.
    The Velvets were a bit long and loud for my current mood, I liked their groove but I switched after about 5 mins.
    Santiago de Compostela was a lot nicer.
    I also had a bit of a hard time following Hanne Hukkelberg, but I stayed with her.

  4. Ali: Good for you, a book everyone should read.
    When I first read it I was overwhelmed, I thought it was fantastic, but I couldn’t believe that it was written by a 20 year old Caribbean university student, there were just so many details that I thought would require a lifetime in England, it couldn’t possibly be written by a mere girl!
    On top of that I predicted that it would be a total flop in the USA, they just wouldn’t understand it! Totally wrong on both counts, good job I wasn’t a book reviewer.
    I’ve been threatening to re-read it for years, maybe this is the year?
    She’s one of my favorite authors, I keep a folder on my desktop just for her articles or reviews about her.

  5. Mesmerised by the Asha Bhosle – a new discovery, and standout of the week. My exposure to Indian music has mostly been confined to instrumental, especially sitar. And its always welcome to add another quirky scandi songstress to the collection. Thanks all…

Leave a Reply

