Earworms 30 October 2017

Well, there wasn’t a huge response to the request for Halloween worms, so this week is a mix of the spooky and the melancholy. If you have an Earworm you’d like to share with everyone, please send an .mp3 or a link to earworm@tincanland.com, together with a few lines about why you’ve chosen it. Many thanks to all contributors, and have a happy Halloween tomorrow.

Offa Rex – The Old Churchyard – Severin: Olivia Chaney and The Decemberists – Sev mentioned this a while ago but it wasn’t an official worm. It is now.

Jeff Buckley – Witches Rave – Ravi Raman: One that I discarded for Song Bar. Seems more like a song about a relationship than about witches. Neat drums and Mr Jeff unique as ever.

Donald Adams, The D’Oyly Carte Opera Chorus, Orchestra of the Royal Opera House, Covent Garden & Isidor Godfrey – When the Night Wind Howls: From “Ruddigore” or “The Witch’s Curse”, a comic opera by Gilbert and Sullivan. This reminds me of my dad, who used to enjoy it immensely.

CrabCorps – Monster Mash – Ravi Raman: came across this just after the Song Bar topic closed. Good for a Halloween play list though as is …

Fred Thomas – Mallwalkers – tincanman: A jarring melancholic song from earlier this year “about feeling too slow for this fast-paced world” while, literally, walking in a shopping mall. It ends deliberately unresolved, he says, because life is.

Jan Garbarak and The Hilliard Ensemble – Parce Mihi Domine – glassarfemptee: I heard this on classic FM the other day, and was bowled over. Ancient and modern. Sacred and profane. The exquisite interplay of Jan’s sax with a sixteenth century chant (‘Spare me, Lord’) from Spanish composer Cristobal de Morales.

Image Copyright: <a href=’https://www.123rf.com/profile_booblgum’>booblgum / 123RF Stock Photo</a>

14 thoughts on “Earworms 30 October 2017

  1. I forgot the send anything specifically for Halloween so i’s a nice surprise to see my Offa Rex one there. A lovely spooky list altogether and all the others were new to me.
    Although obviously I know other versions on Monster Mash, I think I prefer this one.
    Absolutely loved the Jan Garbarak but nothing that I don’t want to listen to again.

  2. Listening to this selection took me off on a memory lane trip, I went via youtube. In 1970 my then wife gave me an LP for my birthday, a group I’d never heard of, it became an all time favorite. I just found it at youtube, it fits in perfectly with this collection. It’s two guys who created using Moog synthesizes amongst other things, they led me to TONTO, that’s also up there, same page.

  3. Good set this week. Old churchyard was lovely, both the singing, and the jangling guitars. You can’t go wrong with the Decemberists. Then the surprisingly jaunty Jeff Buckley – love the line “I feel so collectible”. I liked the insouciant style of Crabcorps version of monster mash too. And Fred Thomas was also new to me, with a jonathan richman feel, a really interesting song. Mmm, so much music, so little time…

Leave a Reply

