Earworms 5 November 2018

It seems that not only did I forget Halloween, but also firework night. So, in lieu, here are your songs about smells. In the UK, the 5th of November has its own smell – well at least, it did when I was a lad. Cold nights, bonfires and that slightly sulphurous whiff … I would have said cordite, but having looked it up I’m not sure that’s right. And next morning, the sky was grey from the smoke. My friend and I used to walk around the village watching everyone else’s fireworks. One night we walked through the cow field; cows are very curious and they came to see what we were doing. They had beautiful eyelashes … and one of them ate my scarf! But tonight the weather is mild, fireworks are few, the local cows are in the barn and I digress … If you have any earworms you would like to share, Please send an .mp3 or a link to earworm@tincanland.com, together with a few words about why you’ve chosen it. Next week’s theme will be: electricity.

West Coast Pop Art Experimental Band – The Smell of Incense – tincanman: Bob Markley’s band was THE happening thing in San Francisco in the mid-60s, but despite flashes of brilliance mixing psychedelic, avant garde and prog, Markley was a control freak and became increasingly obsessed with girls who weren’t old enough to vote and the band imploded.

The Zephyrs – Perfume – glasshalfempty: The wellspring of pop north of the border has produced a third band with the name The Zephyrs. This latest incarnation knows how to sniff out a wistful love song, and dig that pedal steel guitar.

Lucinda Belle – Smells Like Teen Spirit – AliM: Can’t remember who sent me this Nirvana cover. But it’s rather splendid.

Robert Kimbrough Sr. – Can I Smell You Tonight? – tincanman: Nice bit of stompin’ soul blues from last year’s What I’m Gon’ Do? Where I’m Gon’ Go From Here? Bit of a creepy title though. Robert Sr is the son of Junior Kimbrough, which maybe makes sense in Mississippi.

Loudon Wainwright III – Dead Skunk – and playlist – severin: I can’t seem to find much (anything) in my iTunes that would fit. Do you think this (the second playlist I compiled for R/R) would do as a sort of bonus YT list to complement whatever people send in MP3 format? (Yes, Ed.) I was very pleased with it until two members of the forum decided to rage about a) not being listed due to the cliquey nature of the blog and b) my outrageous behaviour in including some songs that were in foreign. Everyone else was very nice though.

Buddy Guy – I Smell A Rat – Ravi Raman: I’ve a few versions of this but as I’ve never put up Buddy Guy before. Here’s his OTT take. (Also remembered Big Mama Thornton’s cover of Lieber/Stoller).

Type O Negative – Summer Breeze – MaggieB: Great version of the Isley Brothers classic from one of my daughter’s favourite bands. She saw them live once and kept talking about the sheer size of Peter Steele.

Image copyright:  Thorsten Schmitt  http://www.123rf.com

6 thoughts on “Earworms 5 November 2018

  1. Lovely set that flows into one another. What a version of Teen Spirit though! Robert Kimbrough is my pick and can’t wait to explore further.
    I thought I had included an MP3 of Buddy Guy! Sorry to have messed it up.
    I actually wouldn’t mind hearing some complaints and “feel some bile” if RR were to come back. Stupid bloody Guardian. Seems to be stuck on playlist for the month and ranking Queen’s singles and all of Barry Manilow’s songs.

  2. I suspect it was me who sent the Lucinda Belle. It usually is. Although I was surprised to see a couple of other people nomming her on SB recently. Not sure why I didn’t think of her this time! More later.

  3. Yes, the teen spirit and Kimbrough were especially good. I liked the Smells playlist too, Severin – must have missed it when you did it. Especially pleased to see Miss Perfumado in the list (courtesy Magicman). Lovely song, and the lyrics are almost haiku – here they are in English.

    Let me die dreaming
    Under the vigil of sad eyes
    Of a kind young lady
    With a sweet-scented body
    Let me die in this way, my flower
    Under the shade of your gentle little eyes
    Let me die dreaming
    Like a dove into her nest
    If the dove is happy in her nest
    So am I, under the look
    And the caresses from
    This sweet-scented miss perfumedo

    The late Cesaria Evora is a legendary Morna singer from Cape Verde Islands. The CVI are a cauldron of musical creativity, with several other genres as well as Morna. We were lucky to hear some great stuff when in Mindelo earlier this year.

    • I had never heard of Cesaria Evora before doing that guru stint. Afterwards I looked up the price of holidays in Cape Verde.

      Favourite off the playlist this week btw is the West Coast Pop Art thingy. Despite the apparently disturbing tendencies of this Markley chap.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.