Earworms 8 January 2024

Happy 2024! Lovely to see so many posts on the ‘Spill over Christmas and New Year. Thanks everyone! And welcome back to Earworms and your selection of songs about something you wish for. I must say, it’s very laid-back this week.

If you have an Earworm you’d like to share, please send an .mp3, .m4a or a link to adempster73@gmail.com, together with a few words about why you’ve chosen it. Next week’s theme will be months of the year.

Worms should reach me by close of play on Sunday 14 January. Many thanks to all contributors.

Laura Mvula – Green Garden – severin: As opposed to a back yard with a small strip of garden containing very shallow soil and not a lot of sunshine. The rose bush is nice every June though. And I have all the bay leaves I can eat.

Scott Matthew – The Wish – shoegazer: From Queensland.

Gene Clark – Gypsy Rider – tincanman: I’m between bikes at the moment, so a motorcycle and a rambling road trip are high on my wish list. Doubt it would make me as poetic as the ex-Byrd though.

The Cyrkle – I Wish You Could Be Here – Fintan28: Lovely winter song from the pens of Paul Simon and Bruce Woodley (he of the Seekers). The Seekers recorded this a couple weeks before the Cyrkle but it was the December ’66 single from the Cyrkle that made it into my collection. Didn’t even know the Seekers version till much later. The bass line in this always makes the room warmer somehow. Just a fantastic little winter tale.

Lady Nade – Peace and Calm – severin: Not quite as worthy and selfless as wishing for world peace. Although I do, he added hastily. Peace and calm are important though. Plus by now everyone knows how much I like Lady Nade’s voice.

Jeffrey Martin – There Is A Treasure – tincanman: Portland singer-songwriter sounding Prine-like on last year’s Thank God We Left The Garden, a bit of a sleeper LP he recorded in his shed. This one’s about wishing so hard for things that you forget what you have.

Pearl Bailey – Solid Gold Cadillac – Fintan28: What does the woman who has everything wish for? Pearlie May has an answer along with a small, extra wish.

Sly and the Family Stone – Dance to the Music – severin: Please note. I mean wishing for the ability rather than the opportunity. No sense of balance, rhythm or spatial awareness does limit things a bit. I used to wish this on the (very rare) occasions I went to a club or (less rarely) a party. Now it’s more while I’m watching Strictly. Plus ça change,

Etta James – A Sunday Kind Of Love – Fintan28: Oh Miss Etta. She knows what to ask for. Can’t seem to find it nowhere. A wish she deserves to have filled with that voice. Still she pleads & pleads & pleads. So good!

Main playlist, blurbs above:

YouTube Playlist, blurbs below (or add to it, here: https://youtube.com/playlist?list=PLqxz-zGCy09onDZfvzHwZZuAfmrsOPh0k&si=fTWt_DWFaTXzdOxw)

Paul Rodgers and Queen – Wishing Well – MaggieB: What better wish than Love in a peaceful world? Happy New Year all 🙂

John Lennon – Imagine – LongTallSilly: Always thought this is a reasonable wish list!

Meute – Peace – DebbyM: I expect we’ll all be wishing for this. I’m going for the techno marching band version.

Susan O’Neill – Hear Us All – DebbyM: My wish is for everyone to be seen and heard by the mainstream, regardless of their social status/gender/disability/you name it. (I’m working on it where I can).

David Zincke – Money for Nothing – DebbyM: I enjoy my job (most of the time) but there are times I fancy the idea of having just enough money to get by (which would be REALLY different to now, ha!) and spending my days doing whatever whenever I like. This is a 2-guitar cover version from a French TV show.

Kate Rusby – Here We Come a-Wassailing – Suzi: ‘Love and joy come to you.’ Wishing everyone a happy New Year!

Pete Seeger – Oh Had I A Golden Thread – Suzi: Strangely I have two versions of this, including Eva Cassidy’s, but I prefer this one by the man who wrote it. Recorded in 1969, a pared-down version of the 1960 original.

Tom Paxton – Peace Will Come – AliM: From the eponymous album (1972, I think), anyway, it was the year I saw him at Bristol Colston Hall. “Peace Will Come, And Let It Begin With Me”.

Father John Misty – I’m Writing A Novel – AliM: I always wished to write a novel, but the older I get, the more apathetic I get and the more convinced I am that it would be a pretentious thing to do. This song sums it up very amusingly.