Livestreams (involving $$$)

Complementary to barbryn’s livestream-on-youtube series, I’d like to mention a couple of other options – the difference being these actually cost Geld. (If you’re not at all interested in this, please just ignore this post).

I came across a Norwegian duo called Ellison at the Reeperbahn Festival last year and really enjoyed their music, to the point that the song posted above made it to my Festive ‘Spill shortlist. They are playing tomorrow, January 21st at 18:00 CET (that’s 5 p.m. UK time, I’m afraid I’m useless with the rest of the world) and the concert’s being streamed on VIERLIVE. I had never heard of this company before, but they’re charging me €5 for the pleasure, so I thought I’d give it a go. There’s not many places I could even buy a beer at a gig for that kind of money.

A while ago I mentioned Live To Your Living Room, more for the folkies among us, where you sometimes literally get artists singing in their own front room at home and sometimes it’s a hybrid concert-at-a-folk-club/zoom affair. Tickets start at £10 and you only need one per device or per household, regardless of how many people are watching. They’ve got some interesting stuff coming up, including Martin Simpson on January 26th and Fay Hield on May 2nd (and loads more in-between).

My intention in posting this is more public service announcement than advertisement. The advertisement comes now, when I tell you that Philne Sonny, winner of several German newcomer awards, will be playing London and Bristol in May – and her guitar player is none other than TheBoyWonder himself. See you there if I can make it happen!

3 thoughts on “Livestreams (involving $$$)

  1. I keep getting emails from FANS.live advertising concerts by Dead family members and associates. They’re all at least 5 hours too late for a UK viewer……

    (C)

  2. OK, the livestream from VIER has been and gone and I cannot say I’m overly impressed. The password I’d been sent wasn’t recognised, but that just meant clicking a few buttons for a new one – not an auspicious start, though.
    For a fiver I really wasn’t expecting an accompanying symphony orchestra playing for hours on end, but after three songs the livestream just stopped.
    The Ellison I saw live was two women, singing beautiful harmonies. Tonight only one of them was there and whilst her voice is beautiful, I’m missing the harmonies I tuned in for. Maybe she said in Norwegian that the other girl was ill? I don’t speak Norwegian. My question in the chat function never got an answer.

    Maybe I’ve been spoiled by the high standards set by the Live to your Living Room team. I shall write tonight off as a disappointing experience and look forward to Martin Simpson on Friday!

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.