This Week I Have Mostly Been Listening To… Alice Phoebe Lou / strongboi

Alice Phoebe Lou is a name that started to appear on my Spotify playlists a couple of years ago – and I liked what I was hearing. I discovered that she was South African-born but based in Berlin and that she had released four studio albums. Her fifth, Shelter, came out last year.

A short while after discovering Alice Phoebe Lou, I came across a band called strongboi and I went down a similar path of exploration, keenly devouring their entire output, which, at the time, consisted of just a handful of singles.

It took me about a year to work out that strongboi is Alice Phoebe Lou! At least, she’s half of strongboi, along with instrumentalist, Ziv Yamin.

There’s a laid-back, jazzy feel to both acts which might appeal to certain jazz officianados in these parts (particularly the track from her Live at Funkhaus album) but Alice is never one to let the style get in the way of the melody.

For the playlist, I’ve chosen four tracks from Alice’s solo work and three from her strongboi side-project. I encourage you check out her entire back-catalogue.

Enjoy…