22 thoughts on “Eyeworms: Give us a word that starts with r

  1. Ruby Ruby Ruby Ruby! As in the song. (I lisp with R but I can say “Ruby’. It was a bugger when I worked in the Diwectorwate of Wuwal Affairs, though).

  2. Rumbunctious.

    I’ve always spelt it with ‘rum’ at the front, although ‘ram’ appears to be more common. Both seem appropriate for a word relating to disorder….

  3. Right is a word that has completely lost it’s meaning these days, other than as an opposite to ‘left’. We need a new word for the political right these days as there’s far too much overlap between ‘correct’ and fascist’ in many minds.

  4. That’s two of my possible choices gone! Erm….

    rumbledethumps

    A Scottish dish similar to bubble and squeak, with potatoes, cabbage and onion.

  5. Rawhead. Often accompanied by bloody-bones, an old term for a scary supernatural apparition often with a skull only partially covered in skin. Also a song by Siouxsie and the Banshees.

  6. Rabelaisian- mainly because I went to see Poor Things last night which is an adaptation of a book by probably my favourite author Alisdair Gray, whose writing I once saw described as having “Rabelaisian gusto”. I didn’t know until 56 minutes ago but it means “displaying earthy humour; bawdy”.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.