The Real Japanese School Girls – Swing Girls – Brass Band Attack ! ! ! 

Swing Girls – The Brass Band Is Where The Action is ! ! !

Of course while I was making my posts on Japanese school girls and J-pop I was aware that actually 2 things.  The first is that Japanese people actually make music much more that western people, and that the reality is that in talking about Japanese school girls and music in real life (as distinct from J-pop) then really the brass band is where it is all happening for girls these days.

After school clubs are a major part of Japanese school life.  This where kids learn the life skills, team work and develop hobbies , play sports and have fun, free from the rigours of cram school and school work.  Many western people think that school clubs are somehow  like a penance that kids are forced to participate in, but actually they are voluntary and run by the kids with a teacher appointed as a supervisor.

Did you know the most popular after school club for Japanese school girls is the brass band ? ? ? And a really high level of achievement is reached in many schools.

I just wanted to show you this video of the Ohzu-Minami Junior High School Brass Band.  In junior High the kids are between 11 and 14 years old so these kids are really quite young.

I think you can see the level of accomplishment and the fun they are having ! ! !

I hope you like it – even though Brass Bands are not so common on The Spill ! ! !

Ohzu-Minami Junior High School Brass Band – Deep Purple Melody

Kawaii ! ! ! ! 

7 thoughts on “The Real Japanese School Girls – Swing Girls – Brass Band Attack ! ! ! 

  1. Actually brass bands are quite popular in the area I live in, it’s an old mining area and the two go together.
    Most of the villages have their own brass bands ( or silver band in our case) and they are really quite good ( sometimes !).
    I wouldn’t sit down and listen to it, unless forced (thank God Ubuette has changed schools !) but it’s perfect music for social events like Summer fetes.

    • In Japan, they are really very popular, but I think much more popular for participation than going to see. Even this band the audience in the school hall is mostly their parents and grandparents.

      I really liked this school band and the whole concert is on youtube ( probably a proud parent put it there ! ! ! )

      Thanks for reading and taking the time to comment Mr P ! ! !

  2. I rather enjoyed that. Preferred it, in fact, to some of the songs on the other thread. I do like a brass band, a choir or any type of music that’s not made for any purpose other than the joy of participating.

  3. I enjoyed it too. I thought they were impressive for kids of their ages. I hope that they continue in music. Compared to the comparable school bands I’ve heard in the US and here, they really are accomplished. Thanks for posting. I wonder what Chinny would think of this version of SOTW. Tee hee.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.