Festive ‘Spill, 2023 – Gold

Art By Saneshane

Panthersan’s Albums of the Year (and shameless self-promotional plug)

Apologies for the late posting and change in format. I wasn’t going to post my AOTY this year as I haven’t been around much, but some completely justified gentle remonstrating and nice comments persuaded me to do it anyway, so here we go!

Albums of the Year

No time (I started a new job in April and the meetings are endless!!) for a full multi-post write up this year I’m afraid, so I’ll just post a quick video. I’m a bit nervous about revealing myself, but as I’ve plastered my idiotic mug all over YT this year (see shameless self-promotional plug below), I suppose it doesn’t make much difference – I’m sure that I just look like the “generic indie bloke” (see Senser episode of shameless self-promotional plug below) you always pictured anyway!

Full list in written words so you don’t have to listen to my droning on:

1 MC Yallah – Yallah Biebe

2 Hey Colossus – In Blood

2b All Structures Align – Cut the Engines

2c Big Break – Angel’s Piss

3 V/Z – Suono Assente

4 Nihiloxica – Source of Denial

5 Man on Man – Provincetown

6 M(h)aol – Attachment Styles

7 Qitsch – No Shame

8a Nakibembe Embaire Group – Nakibembe Embaire Group

8b DJ Finale – Mille Morceau

8c Elvin Brandhi & Lord Spikeheart – Drunken Love

9 Jonny Nash – Point of Entry

10 Goat – Joy in Fear

Spotify playlist with added extras:

Shameless self-promotional plug:

At the start of the year, I woke up with an epiphany; “I know what the world needs” I thought in my heroic internal dialogue, “I know what’s missing out there, what the world needs is three middle-aged white men with a podcast talking confidently about subjects they have very limited knowledge about”. And lo, the Stupid and Contagious Podcast was born.

For the last few months, I have been putting out a weekly podcast with two of my childhood friends (Neil and Dave) that is dedicated to 90s guitar music. We interview musicians from the 90s (chatting to Roddy Bottum from Faith No More was one of the greatest moments of my life!) and talk complete bollocks either side of the interviews. It is a surprising amount of hard work to put together every week, but just about the most rewarding thing I’ve probably ever done.    

Links here for anyone who is interested:

Apple podcasts: https://podcasts.apple.com/gb/podcast/stupid-contagious/id1705645715

Acast: https://shows.acast.com/where-were-you-in-o/episodes

Youtube: https://www.youtube.com/@stupidandcontagiouspodcast

Spotify: https://open.spotify.com/show/7xXYSVnQ6NVFd3WGs9dspV

Cheers and Merry Christmas Everyone!