2023: R.I.P.

It was hard to miss the losses of Tina Turner, Tony Bennett, Sinead O’Connor, Robbie Robertson, Gordon Lightfoot, Shane McGowan, David Crosby and so many other notables this year. But what about Terry Kirkman, Mars Williams, Jane Birkin, Trugoy The Dove, Emahoy Guebrou, Cynthia Weil, Magoo ….?

NPR has a long list HERE

Who will you miss the most and why? Listicals are ok if you prefer.

CDs I recently sold on ebay

New feature: feeling equally as slack as some of you and rightly chastised by @mrshoey during ‘Spillmas, I’m going to try my hand at a new irregular feature called ‘CDs I recently sold on ebay’ – I’ve tried new features in the past (The Wheel of our Tune…remember that?) which have ended up dying a death because I run out of steam when I commit to a regular feature. 

You guys may not at all be interested in my ramblings on selling a dying format so that others can love them as much as I did, but you’re gonna get it anyway! I will try to avoid the regular features so the content doesn’t get too overcrowded.

So here’s the thing; I’ve had 2 very full boxes of CDs sat in my work room for about 3 years. I have no means of playing this format anymore. All tracks are uploaded onto my iTunes. They are too heavy to take to a second hand store, the contents seemed too precious to sell on Music Magpie (and weighty to post) or give away. They were there so long that we kinda forgot what was in the boxes. Back in November I got them all out and listed on ebay some that were most likely to sell. They are primarily compilations, but not all. A few have sold, and those that haven’t just get auto re-listed, so no great effort needed on my part. Please don’t @ me about lacking commitment to music collection – I need to move them on and am sharing these CDs with others who will make use of them, love them and discover new styles, tracks, and musicians like I did – it’s recycling.

What I will try to do, is talk a bit about the artist/s, the album, any notable tracks or interesting anecdotes about why I came of have the CD in the first place etc etc. I’ll try to post either a Spotify or Youtube link to the album tracks, if I can. If it’s boring and you guys are showing no interest, I will stop. So far I’ve sold 12 CDs with a gazillion to go!